Binder Takes Victory in Mugello Moto3 Classic

Brad Binder tightened his grip on the 2016 Moto3 world championship with victory at Mugello in one of the greatest Grand Prix races in recent history. The South African won a five-way drag race the finish line on the last lap with just two seconds covering all fifteen points-scorers in a race littered with slipstreaming manoeuvres and lead-changes from start to finish.

In an extraordinary race, eight different riders led across the line with several others enjoying time at the front between but one of the key lead changes came on lap ten when polesitter Romano Fenati ground to a halt, the chain having come off his Sky VR46 KTM. Incredibly, this promoted Italian rookie Fabio Di Giannantonio into the lead with the Gresini rider making rapid progress from sixteenth on the grid.

Shortly after half distance, Binder hit the front for the first time and that wasn’t the only piece of good news for Red Bull KTM Ajo with Jorge Navarro, Binder’s closest championship rival, crashing out on the same lap after colliding with Juanfran Guevara.

Although the leading group still featured over twenty riders, the chief threat looked to coming from Leopard’s Fabio Quartararo whose KTM looked perfectly set-up for the long home straight. The Frenchman slipstreamed his way from fifth to first on lap twelve before hitting the front again with two to go but Binder crucially outbraked him into San Donato on the final lap before defending his line beautifully from there.

In the end, despite being shadowed by four riders on the exit of Bucine, Brad held on for victory with Di Giannantonio clinching a remarkable second ahead of Francesco Bagnaia, Niccolo Antonelli and Quartararo who was shuffled back to fifth despite crossing the line just 0.077 seconds behind the winner.

With Khairul Idham Pawi and Aron Canet crashing on the last lap, Hiroki Ono was promoted to sixth ahead of Joan Mir and Nicolo Bulega while Guevara, who escaped punishment for his tangle with Navarro, taking ninth ahead of Andrea Migno.


Moto3 Gran Premio d’Italia TIM (Race Result)

141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo39:48.38225
24. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto3+0.03820
321. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+0.06916
423. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+0.07513
520. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing+0.07711
676. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia+1.03710
736. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing+1.5329
88. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.5388
958. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team+1.5677
1016. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.7626
1195. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+1.7915
1233. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto3+1.7924
1319. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+1.9333
1488. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+2.0112
1548. Lorenzo Dalla PortaKTMSchedl GP Racing+2.0411
1611. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV+2.391
1784. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+2.434
1864. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+2.577
1924. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+2.775
2098. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+4.289
216. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team+4.916
227. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+34.654
2317. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+34.692
2443. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia+34.739
2577. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia+42.628
NC44. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+1 Lap
NC89. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia+1 Lap
NC3. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+1 Lap
NC55. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing+7 Laps
NC9. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+9 Laps
NC5. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+11 Laps
NC40. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+13 Laps
NC10. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+17 Laps
NQ37. Davide PizzoliKTMProcercasa - 42 Motorsport