Max Defourny grabs opening Silverstone NEC pole

Max Defourny secured his second pole position of the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC season as he stormed to top spot in the first qualifying session of the Silverstone weekend on Friday.

The highly rated Belgian set a best time of 1m57.870s to deny Briton Lando Norris the position, with the R-ace GP racer defeating the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver by 0.196s.

Will Palmer made it a good session for R-ace GP by setting the third fastest time, just 0.425s behind team-mate Defourny, while Ferdinand Habsburg was the fastest of the Fortec Motorsports entries in fourth.

Frenchman Dorian Boccolacci will start fifth for Tech 1 Racing alongside Sahara Force India junior driver Jehan Daruvala of Josef Kaufmann Racing, while row eight sees series returnee Callan O’Keeffe of JD Motorsport ahead of Briton Alex Gill, racing for Mark Burdett Motorsport, who had earlier topped one of the two free practice sessions at the Silverstone circuit.

R-ace GP’s Julien Falchero and Nikita Troitskiy of Fortec Motorsports completed the top ten of the twenty-four strong car field for Saturday’s opening race.

The final British racer in the field, Finlay Hutchinson, will start down in twentieth in the second of the Mark Burdett Motorsport entries.

Silverstone Race 1 Qualifying Result

133Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1m57.870s
22Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1m58.066s
314Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1m58.295s
462Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1m58.603s
59Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1m58.674s
61Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1m58.736s
719Callan O'KeeffeRSAJD Motorsport1m58.773s
827Alex GillGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1m58.858s
916Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1m58.865s
107Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports1m58.872s
1118James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1m58.904s
123Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1m58.950s
1310Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m58.959s
1411Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1m59.148s
155Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports1m59.178s
1621Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1m59.481s
176Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1m59.753s
1896Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team1m59.958s
1924Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles2m00.181s
2028Finlay HutchinsonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport2m00.698s
2177Laurents HorrGERDutt Motorsport2m00.986s
2238David PorcelliUSAMGR Motorsport2m01.271s
2332Kasper LarsenDENKEO Racing2m01.792s
2442Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF by Adrian Valles2m03.447s