Fenati Leads Sky VR46 1-2 in Mugello Qualifying

Romano Fenati picked the perfect time to clinch his second pole position of the season, topping the qualifying timesheets on home soil at Mugello. The Italian led a Sky Racing Team VR46 1-2 ahead of Andrea Migno who used his compatriot’s slipstream to take a career-best second while Khairul Idham Pawi pipped championship leader Brad Binder to third.

On his return to Moto3 after an injury-enforced absence at Le Mans, Enea Bastianini made an early bid for pole position with a 1:58.440 but Fenati soon demonstrated the power of a slipstream around Mugello, using the draft down the home straight to clock a 1:57.794. On his second run, Romano found another half-second, working in tandem with his teammate Migno, and a 1:57.289 would ultimately prove good enough for pole.

Niccolo Antonelli’s hopes were dashed shortly before the halfway mark when a high-side at Bucine sent his Ongetta Honda careering into the barriers. In his absence, a group of Italians did make progress though with Migno climbing back up to second, moments after being demoted by the impressive Pawi. Francesco Bagnaia also rose up the order and looked set to secure an all-Italian front row when he leapt up to second but the Mahindra rider was adjudged to have exceeded track limits at turn five, causing his lap time to be deleted.

With Bagnaia relegated to eighth, Brad Binder ended the session in fourth after failing to improve on his final run, finding himself a target for a slipstream. Title rival Jorge Navarro will start alongside in fifth with Bastianini completing the second row. Nicolo Bulega will start his first-ever home Grand Prix in seventh ahead of Bagnaia while Aron Canet and Joan Mir, two of Bulega’s former CEV rivals, completed the top ten.


Moto3 Gran Premio d’Italia TIM (Qualifying Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:57.289
216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:57.586
389. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:57.605
441. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:57.661
59. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:57.956
633. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:57.994
78. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:58.013
821. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:58.049
944. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:58.123
1036. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:58.151
1176. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:58.152
124. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:58.228
1364. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:58.305
1448. Lorenzo Dalla PortaKTMSchedl GP Racing1:58.343
1588. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:58.344
1684. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:58.375
1755. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:58.426
1820. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:58.486
1998. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:58.494
2024. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:58.520
2119. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:58.577
2223. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:58.606
2311. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:58.676
2440. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:58.745
2595. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:58.763
2658. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:58.767
2710. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:58.931
2817. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:59.041
296. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team1:59.260
3043. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:59.448
317. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:59.453
323. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker2:00.482
3377. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia2:00.570
NQ37. Davide PizzoliKTMProcercasa - 42 MotorsportNo Time