Norris beats Palmer to NEC race two pole

Lando Norris secured his first pole position of the 2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup season during the second qualifying session at Silverstone on Friday.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was one of five drivers to get beneath the pole position time set by Max Defourny for race one, with his time of 1m57.079s the best time of the weekend seen so far.

Norris will be joined on the front row for Sunday’s second race by fellow Briton Will Palmer, with the R-ace GP racer just 0.289s adrift of the pole time, while Dorian Boccolacci will start from third for Tech 1 Racing, another 0.019s back on Palmer.

Race one pole sitter Defourny will start race two from fourth on the grid for R-ace GP, while fifth went to Jehan Daruvala of Josef Kaufmann Racing, with the Indian driver being joined on the third row of the grid by the third of the R-ace GP drivers Julien Falchero.

Vasily Romanov qualified his Fortec Motorsports machine in seventh ahead of Mark Burdett Motorsport’s Alex Gill, while Callan O’Keeffe of JD Motorsport and Sasha Fenestraz of Tech 1 Racing completed the top ten.

Finlay Hutchinson, the fourth of the British racers on the grid this weekend, will line up down in nineteenth for race two.

Silverstone Race 2 Qualifying Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.079s
214Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1m57.368s
39Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1m57.387s
433Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1m57.410s
51Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.619s
616Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1m57.926s
75Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports1m57.984s
827Alex GillGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1m57.985s
919Callan O'KeeffeRSAJD Motorsport1m58.012s
1011Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1m58.045s
1162Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1m58.122s
1218James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1m58.156s
133Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1m58.163s
147Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports1m58.329s
156Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1m58.586s
1610Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m58.606s
1721Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1m58.646s
1896Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team1m59.191s
1928Finlay HutchinsonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1m59.452s
2024Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles1m59.491s
2138David PorcelliUSAMGR Motorsport1m59.637s
2277Laurents HorrGERDutt Motorsport1m59.826s
2332Kasper LarsenDENKEO Racing2m00.219s
2442Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF by Adrian Valles2m01.319s