Norris secures Eurocup pole in Monte Carlo

Lando Norris - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Lando Norris edged out Ferdinand Habsburg to take pole position around the Principality of Monaco during Saturday morning’s qualifying session.

The Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series leader stormed to the top with a lap of 1:31.221 for Josef Kaufmann Racing, beating Fortec Motorsports’ Habsburg by just 0.053, although the Austrian has a two-place penalty carried over from Motorland Aragon meaning he’ll start the race off the front row in fourth.

Norris will therefore start alongside Tech 1 Racing’s Sacha Fenestraz for Sunday’s twenty-five minute race, with the Frenchman setting a fastest lap of 1:31.463, his best qualifying effort so far of the season.

Max Defourny also moves up the order due to Habsburg’s penalty, with the R-ace GP driver set to start third, while Dorian Boccolacci will start fifth for Tech 1 Racing alongside Nikita Mazepin, who making his first start of the Eurocup season for AVF.

Sahara Force India-backed Indian racer Jehan Daruvala was seventh fastest for Josef Kaufmann Racing, ahead of AVF’s Harrison Scott, while Bruno Baptista of Fortec Motorsports and AVF’s Henrique Chaves completed the top ten.

There were two red flags during the session, with Alexey Korneev crashing his JD Motorsport car at Casino Square, and Rodrigo Pflucker doing the same at Ste Devote for Cram Motorsport.

Will Palmer also had a moment during the session, spinning at Tabac, but the Briton was able to stay off the barriers and rejoin the session, qualifying thirteenth.

Sacha Fenestraz - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd
Sacha Fenestraz – Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Monaco Qualifying Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:31.221
262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1:31.274
311Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:31.463
433Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:31.622
59Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:31.655
623Nikita MazepinRUSAVF by Adrian Valles1:31.769
71Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:32.021
822Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles1:32.030
96Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:32.083
1021Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:32.207
1116Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:32.234
125Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports1:32.329
1314Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:32.346
1412Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:32.470
1510Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:32.775
163Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:32.793
1718James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:33.039
1830Rodrigo PfluckerPERCram Motorsport1:33.616
1924Petru FlorescuROMAVF by Adrian Valles1:34.049
2035Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace1:34.205
2117Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:34.953
2231David RichertCANCram Motorsport1:35.387
2338David PorcelliUSAMGR MotorsportNo Time