Norris takes commanding race two Silverstone victory

BES Silverstone May 15th 2016 ©Paul Davies Photography 2016 NO UNAUTHORISED USE

Highly rated teenager Lando Norris made amends for failing to start the opening race of the weekend by dominating the second Formula Renault 2.0 NEC race on Sunday, leading from lights out to the chequered flag at Silverstone.

A gearbox issue had prevented the British driver from starting race one on Saturday, but after starting from pole position for Sunday’s finale, Norris was in untouchable form, and the Josef Kaufmann Racing took victory after thirteen laps by 4.124s.

Will Palmer secured the runners-up spot for R-ace GP, but was not on the pace of his compatriot up front, but was able to keep Frenchman Dorian Boccolacci of Tech 1 Racing behind him this time around, something Palmer was not able to manage during Saturday’s opener.

Jehan Daruvala secured fourth place for Josef Kaufmann Racing after finding his way passed race one winner Max Defourny, who could not match his efforts from Saturday and was forced to settle for fifth for R-ace GP, just ahead of team-mate Julien Falchero.

Callan O’Keeffe secured seventh place on his return to the championship for JD Motorsport, finishing on Falchero’s tail, and just under 1.2 seconds behind fourth placed Daruvala.

Alex Gill secured eighth place for Mark Burdett Motorsport, while Fortec Motorsports duo Vasily Romanov and Ferdinand Habsburg completed the top ten, just ahead of another Fortec entry of Nikita Troitskiy, and the second JD Motorsport entry of James Allen.

The challenge of the third Josef Kaufmann Racing entry of Russian teenager Robert Shwartzman ended early when he was spun out by the AVF entry of Henrique Chaves that broke the Portuguese driver’s front wing and earned him a drive-through penalty.

Credit: ©Paul Davies Photography 2016
Credit: ©Paul Davies Photography 2016

Silverstone Race 2 Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing25m57.595s
214Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP+4.124s
39Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing+4.970s
41Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing+6.747s
533Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP+6.942s
616Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP+7.430s
719Callan O'KeeffeRSAJD Motorsport+7.943s
827Alex GillGBRMark Burdett Motorsport+13.196s
95Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports+13.616s
1062Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports+14.256s
117Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports+16.096s
1218James AllenAUSJD Motorsport+16.796s
1311Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing+17.245s
1410Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+24.932s
156Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports+29.559s
1696Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team+32.228s
1724Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles+33.357s
1828Finlay HutchinsonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport+42.424s
1932Kasper LarsenDENKEO Racing+49.802s
2038David PorcelliUSAMGR Motorsport+56.084s
2177Laurents HorrGERDutt Motorsport+57.879s
RET21Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian VallesRetired
RET42Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF by Adrian VallesRetired
RET3Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann RacingRetired