Bastianini Beats the Rain to Claim Assen Pole

Enea Bastianini snatched pole position just before the rain arrived at Assen to claim pole position for tomorrow’s Dutch TT. The Gresini rider’s expert timing secured him his first pole of 2016 ahead of the three Sky VR46 KTMs while championship leader Brad Binder qualified fifth for Red Bull KTM Ajo.

With Catalunya winner Jorge Navarro missing this weekend through injury, Estrella Galicia’s hopes rested on the shoulders of Aron Canet but the rookie lost control of his Honda at turn eight, causing extensive damage to the machine before he had put a representative time on the board.

Typically, Binder was error-free as he took provisional pole nine minutes into the session but the crucial moment came shortly before the halfway mark as Romano Fenati grabbed pole, only to be outpaced moments later by Bastianini. At this point, the rain started to fall, effectively signalling the end of the battle for the front row.

Andrea Migno and Nicolo Bulega improved to snatch second and third in the nick of time, knocking their more-experienced teammate off the front row, while Binder slipped to fifth ahead of the RBA Racing KTM of Juanfran Guevara. Home favourite Bo Bendsneyder will start a career-high of seventh with Fabio Quartararo and Fabio Di Giannantonio alongside while Francesco Bagnaia lines up tenth after having a potential pole lap time deleted.

After a sensational job by his mechanics, Canet returned to the track in the dying seconds but with conditions far from ideal, the Spanish rookie could only climb as high as sixteenth.


Moto3 Motul TT Assen (Qualifying Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
133. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:42.463
216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:42.516
38. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:42.529
45. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:42.582
541. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:42.599
658. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:42.644
764. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:42.655
820. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:42.703
94. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:42.724
1021. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:42.746
1119. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:42.792
1248. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:42.887
1323. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:42.911
1495. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:42.959
1565. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:42.968
1644. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:43.214
1755. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:43.235
1836. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:43.368
1911. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:43.399
2040. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:43.407
2117. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:43.515
226. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team1:43.641
2310. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:43.647
2489. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:43.692
2584. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:43.692
2624. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:43.754
2712. Albert ArenasMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:43.873
2843. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:44.699
297. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:45.024
303. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:45.149
3177. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:45.153
3299. Danny WebbMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:45.225