Binder Grabs Moto3 Pole at Sombre Catalunya

Brad Binder claimed pole position in the Moto3 class as the Catalunya Grand Prix weekend resumed at a sombre Barcelona. With the tragic loss of Luis Salom on Friday still in everybody’s thoughts, qualifying took place as scheduled following the wishes of his family and Binder emerged on top in the lightweight class, edging out Niccolo Antonelli.

One of the big questions heading into qualifying surrounded the revised track layout with the riders forced to adjust to the Formula 1 configuration. At first, the Estrella Galicia 0,0 teammates looked most at ease with Jorge Navarro and Aron Canet trading fastest times, the younger Spaniard holding provisional pole as the first runs were completed.

Canet’s 1:54.970 remained unbeaten until the halfway stage of the session when Navarro regained the upper hand, shaving three tenths off his teammate’s time, and the 20-year-old made an even bigger step forward with thirteen minutes remaining, lowering the benchmark to a 1:54.408.

The private battle for pole was blown wide open with a minute to go with Antonelli clocking a 1:54.123, only for Binder to immediately usurp the Italian, while the duo made further improvements on their last laps, Antonelli jumping back ahead of the South African only to hand pole position back to the championship leader seconds later.

Navarro saved a personal best for his final lap but couldn’t lift himself higher than third while reigning CEV champion Nicolo Bulega shone around another Spanish track, claiming fourth ahead of Enea Bastianini and Khairul Idham Pawi. Francesco Bagnaia is the leading Mahindra in seventh, just ahead of Jules Danilo, while Canet was relegated to ninth, one spot in front of Mugello polesitter Romano Fenati.


Moto3 Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya (Qualifying Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:54.024
223. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:54.078
39. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:54.112
48. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:54.131
533. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:54.167
689. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:54.392
721. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:54.439
895. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:54.472
944. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:54.603
105. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:54.718
1176. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:54.726
1220. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:54.737
134. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:54.799
1464. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:54.830
1516. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:54.857
1684. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:54.881
1712. Albert ArenasMahindraMRW Mahindra Aspar Team1:54.888
1836. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:54.957
1919. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:55.152
2011. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:55.173
2158. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:55.183
2288. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:55.197
2355. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:55.225
2424. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:55.518
257. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:55.576
2617. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:55.720
276. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team1:55.814
2865. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:55.995
2937. Davide PizzoliKTMProcercasa - 42 Motorsport1:56.089
3040. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:56.102
3198. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:56.219
3243. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:56.362
3310. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:56.492
3477. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:57.230
353. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:57.868