EuroFormula Open

Habsburg denies Pulcini to take second Paul Ricard Pole

1 Mins read
Ferdinand Habsburg - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Ferdinand Habsburg secured his second pole position of the Paul Ricard weekend in a close qualifying session on Sunday morning.

The Drivex School team racer converted his maiden pole to a maiden victory during Saturday’s opener, and his lap of 2:00.046 on Sunday was enough to continue his strong EuroFormula Open weekend at the French circuit.

Habsburg’s time was just 0.016 seconds faster than current championship leader Leonardo Pulcini, with the Campos Racing driver looking to better his runners-up spot from race one during Sunday’s second race.

Colton Herta will be looking for better luck in race two after finding himself turned around during race one by Igor Walilko, but the young American Carlin driver rebounded well to secure a strong third place on the grid, just ahead of the leading RP Motorsport machine of Italian Damiano Fioravanti.

Diego Menchaca, who inherited the final podium position on Saturday when Fioravanti spun while attacking Habsburg for the lead, will start fifth for Campos Racing, alongside Enaam Ahmed of RP Motorsport.

Walilko will start seventh for Fortec Motorsports alongside Carlin’s Keyvan Andres, while RP Motorsport drivers Antoni Ptak and Tanart Sathienthirakul complete the top ten, with the Pole and Thai contenders just ahead of Kusiri Kantadhee and Julio Moreno.

Paul Ricard Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=1154 /]

Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply