Habsburg sets the pace in Paul Ricard practice

Ferdinand Habsburg - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Ferdinand Habsburg’s strong turn of form continued as he set a dominant pace during free practice for the EuroFormula Open round at Paul Ricard on Friday.

The Austrian finished on the podium in both races of the previous round at Spa-Francorchamps, while in between those races and this weekend, finished second in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series race at Monaco, and set the best time of the day in the opening of the three practice sessions on Friday with a lap of 2:01.401 for his Drivex School team.

Habsburg was 0.949 seconds clear of second placed Antoni Ptak of RP Motorsport, with the Polish driver just 0.020s ahead of current championship leader Leonardo Pulcini of Campos Racing.

Colton Herta was the second best placed rookie driver in fourth for Carlin, with Damiano Fioravanti fifth for RP Motorsport ahead of Igor Walilko of Fortec Motorsports.

Enaad Ahmed was seventh for RP Motorsport ahead of Campos Racing duo Diego Menchaca and Julio Moreno, while Kang Ling completed the top ten for DAV Racing.

Two time race winner Jack Aitken is absent from proceedings this weekend due to GP3 Series commitments for the RP Motorsport driver, as is Teo Martin Motorsport’s Tatiana Calderon.

Paul Ricard Free Practice Results (Combined)

162Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School2:01.3462:03.2032:02.401
21Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport2:02.2952:02.7002:03.353
38Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing2:03.0112:03.1132:02.315
498Colton HertaUSACarlin2:03.0452:03.4352:02.725
53Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport2:03.2052:02.7582:03.231
637Igor WalilkoPOLFortec Motorsports2:02.9862:02.9532:03.330
74Enaam AhmedGBRRP Motorsport2:04.6082:04.3032:03.237
87Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing2:03.3252:03.2672:03.640
96Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing2:03.7272:04.0302:03.425
1027Kang LingCHNDAV Racing2:04.9952:04.3762:03.502
115Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport2:04.2832:03.7482:03.513
1272Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport2:04.7882:05.3232:03.684
1347Keyvan AndresGERCarlin2:04.2652:04.9402:03.712
1418Riccardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing2:05.2462:04.6842:03.772
152Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport2:03.8792:04.0492:04.453
1620Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing2:06.3092:05.0762:04.560
1751Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin2:04.6112:04.9812:05.196
1814Jose-Manuel VilaltaMEXTeo Martin Motorsport2:07.8242:06.4422:05.482
1912Vladimir AtoevRUSTeo Martin Motorsport2:06.0512:06.3232:05.569
209Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing2:07.1112:07.8172:05.628
2115JT LiangCHNTeam West-Tec F32:06.5182:06.1772:05.915