Maiden pole position for Habsburg in Paul Ricard

Ferdinand Habsburg - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Friday’s pacesetter Ferdinand Habsburg continued his strong form into the opening EuroFormula Open qualifying session of the weekend at Paul Ricard on Saturday, with the young Austrian taking his first series pole position.

Habsburg set a best time of 1:59.788 in his Drivex School car around the French circuit, and was the only driver to dip below the two-minute lap time during the session.

Joining Habsburg on the front row will be Italian Damiano Fioravanti, who was the best placed of the RP Motorsport drivers during the session, but was 0.297 seconds down on the pole sitter.

Antoni Ptak took his best qualifying position of the season in third, also for RP Motorsport, while championship leader Leonardo Pulcini ended the session in fourth for Campos Racing, with the two row two drivers separated by just 0.009 seconds in the Polish drivers favour.

American teenager Colton Herta was fifth for Carlin ahead of Fortec MotorsportsIgor Walilko, with Campos Racing’s Diego Menchaca and RP Motorsport’s Enaam Ahmed on row four.

Ecuadorian Julio Moreno of Campos Racing will start ninth, while Keyvan Andres completed the top ten for Carlin.

Paul Ricard Race 1 Qualifying Result

162Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1:59.788
23Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport2:00.085
31Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport2:00.131
48Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing2:00.140
598Colton HertaUSACarlin2:00.182
637Igor WalilkoPOLFortec Motorsports2:00.324
77Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing2:00.366
84Enaam AhmedGBRRP Motorsport2:00.468
96Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing2:00.521
1047Keyvan AndresGERCarlin2:00.985
1172Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport2:01.057
122Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport2:01.202
135Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport2:01.301
1420Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing2:01.754
1527Kang LingCHNDAV Racing2:01.978
1612Vladimir AtoevRUSTeo Martin Motorsport2:02.094
1714Jose-Manuel VilaltaMEXTeo Martin Motorsport2:02.505
1851Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin2:02.592
1918Riccardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing2:03.054
209Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing2:03.120
2115JT LiangCHNTeam West-Tec F32:03.879