Navarro Ends Wait for Maiden Moto3 Win

Jorge Navarro claimed his breakthrough Grand Prix victory at the 31st attempt in Barcelona to gain ground on championship leader Brad Binder. The Spanish teenager, who had eight podium finishes to his name without winning, burst clear of the leading group in the closing laps while Binder recovered from a collision with Gabriel Rodrigo to finish second.

A leading group of eight riders eventually distanced themselves from the pack with Rodrigo the surprise package among them having vaulted up the order from 19th on the grid. The Argentine rider led for the first time in his fledgling career on lap ten but an ill-judged move while battling Binder for fourth saw his fortunes change.

Entering the final chicane, installed following the tragic events of Friday afternoon, Rodrigo made contact with the no.41 KTM and pushed the South African off the circuit, relegating him to eighth. Rodrigo suffered less, shortcutting the corner and maintaining fourth but his dream of a first career podium was crushed by a crash at turn one just a lap later.

With Khairul Idham Pawi also tumbling in the latter stages, Binder was promoted back up to sixth and a multi-bike slipstream at the start of the final lap saw him move up into fourth. A sensational dive up the inside of turn four saw Brad overhaul Romano Fenati and Enea Bastianini and the Italian pair left to dispute the final rostrum spot, the championship leader secured twenty crucial points. Bastianini edged out his compatriot for third while Nicolo Bulega pipped fellow rookie Aron Canet for fifth.

Fabio Quartararo held off his Leopard teammate Joan Mir for seventh while Fabio Di Giannantonio, the hero of Mugello, scored more points in ninth place. John McPhee also added to his tally after taking his Saxoprint Peugeot to 15th.


Moto3 Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya (Race Result)

19. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,042:18.22825
241. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+0.56420
333. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto3+0.81716
45. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+0.92513
58. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1.53111
644. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+1.58110
720. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing+13.6059
836. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing+13.6728
94. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto3+13.7537
1084. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+14.8146
1164. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+14.8405
1240. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+29.8604
1358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team+32.0063
1424. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+33.3052
1517. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+33.7661
1611. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV+34.986
1765. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+36.384
1816. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+41.731
1955. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing+42.985
2023. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+59.035
213. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+1:29.713
2277. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia+1:30.640
NC98. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+1 Lap
NC37. Davide PizzoliKTMProcercasa - 42 Motorsport+1 Lap
NC19. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+2 Laps
NC89. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia+3 Laps
NC88. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+6 Laps
NC12. Albert ArenasMahindraMRW Mahindra Aspar Team+9 Laps
NC21. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+17 Laps
NC7. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+17 Laps
NC76. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia+19 Laps
NC95. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+19 Laps
NC6. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team+20 Laps
NC43. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia+20 Laps
NC10. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+22 Laps