Boccolacci secures maiden Eurocup win in Monza race two

Dorian Boccolacci - Credit: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI

Dorian Boccolacci claimed his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory as he triumphed in race two at Monza on Saturday.

The Frenchman gained revenge on Lando Norris at the start of the race, grabbing the lead from the pole sitter much like Norris had done to Boccolacci earlier in the day in race one, and although the Briton was able to make a pass for the lead by the end of the opening lap, Boccolacci assumed the lead once more on lap two.

Norris was demoted to third by fellow Briton Harrison Scott, with the trio up front pulling away from the rest of the field until a safety car was needed after Will Palmer and Jehan Daruvala collided whilst battling for fifth position.

On the restart, Norris and Scott clashed, allowing Boccolacci to pull ahead, with the two Britons dropping down the order and finishing seventh and thirteenth respectively at the chequered flag.

Max Defourny stayed out of trouble to claim the runners-up spot for R-ace GP despite having run behind the Palmer/Daruvala and Norris/Scott battles, while Sacha Fenestraz denied his Tech 1 Racing team-mate Hugo de Sadeleer the final podium place.

Nikita Troitskiy responded to his race one retirement by claiming fifth for Fortec Motorsports, with Robert Shwartzman finishing sixth ahead of his Josef Kaufmann Racing team-mate Norris.

Nikita Mazepin made it three Russian’s inside the top eight as he took eighth for AVF, while Julien Falchero and Ferdinand Habsburg completed the top ten, the latter claiming the position inside the points on the final tour.

Monza Race 2 Result

19Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing27:44.129
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP+1.926
311Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing+2.887
410Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+3.518
57Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports+5.575
63Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+5.960
72Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing+6.119
823Nikita MazepinRUSAVF by Adrian Valles+6.739
916Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP+9.513
1062Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports+10.471
1118James AllenAUSJD Motorsport+10.958
1235Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace+12.127
1322Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles+12.430
145Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports+12.476
156Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports+14.673
1643Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles+16.697
1724Petru FlorescuROMAVF by Adrian Valles+20.674
1838Colin NobleGBRMGR Motorsport+22.290
1931David RichertCANCram Motorsport+23.328
RET14Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GPRetired
RET1Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann RacingRetired
RET17Alexey KorneevRUSJD MotorsportRetired
RET12Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 RacingRetired
RET21Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian VallesRetired