Daruvala sets record pace in Red Bull Ring Collective Tests

Jehan Daruvala - Credit: Jean Michel Le Meur / DPPI

Jehan Daruvala set a new Formula Renault 2.0 Series lap record around the Red Bull Ring as the Indian driver led the way in both collective test sessions at the Austrian circuit on Friday.

The Eurocup series is back in Austria for the first time since 2013, and Daruvala put his Josef Kaufmann Racing machine to the head of the times, with his time of 1:28.615 in the second session being the best of the day.

The Force India-backed driver was the pacesetter in the first session as well with a time of 1:28.890, leading a Kaufmann 1-2 ahead of team-mate Lando Norris by 0.030 seconds, while Harrison Scott was third best for AVF, a further 0.056 seconds back.

Max Defourny was fourth and Will Palmer sixth for R-ace GP, either side of Frenchman Dorian Boccolacci of Tech 1 Racing.

Belgian driver Defourny was second quickest in the second session ahead of Scott, with Russian driver Alexey Korneev setting the fourth best time for JD Motorsport ahead of Boccolacci and Sacha Fenestraz.

Norris was on top early in the session before a brief red flag due to Gabriel Aubry stopping on track, and with many drivers switching to fresh tyres on the restart, the Briton fell to thirteenth at the chequered flag, although the top seventeen drivers were separated by just 0.848 seconds.

Red Bull Ring Collective Test 1 Result

11Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:28.890
22Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:28.920
322Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles1:28.976
433Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:29.023
59Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:29.210
614Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:29.339
711Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:29.407
817Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:29.416
910Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:29.515
103Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:29.602
115Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports1:29.620
1216Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:29.806
1318James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:29.831
1421Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:29.899
1562Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1:30.015
166Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:30.043
1712Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:30.284
1844Finlay HutchisonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1:31.072
1935Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace1:31.593

Red Bull Ring Collective Test 2 Result

11Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:28.615
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:28.681
322Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles1:28.716
417Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:28.823
59Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:28.920
611Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:28.948
716Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:28.962
814Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:29.101
918James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:29.145
103Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:29.172
1162Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1:29.232
1221Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:29.322
132Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:29.332
145Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports1:29.362
1510Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:29.415
166Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:29.423
1712Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:29.463
1844Finlay HutchisonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1:30.144
1935Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace1:30.892