EuroFormula Open

Herta hurries to maiden EuroFormula Open pole

1 Mins read
Formula V8 Silverstone July 22nd ©Paul Davies Photography NO UNAUTHORISED USE

On the back of his maiden EuroFormula Open podium finish on Saturday, Colton Herta secured his first series pole position with a great late lap at Silverstone.

The American Carlin driver secured top spot with a time of 1:52.670 to deny Antoni Ptak his own maiden pole position by 0.190 seconds at a cooler Silverstone than it was on Saturday, with clouds overhead and the threat of rain looming in the air.

Behind Herta and RP Motorsport’s Ptak will be Ferdinand Habsburg of Drivex School, who secured third on the grid despite languishing at the back of the field for much of the session before finally getting a good lap in, while championship leader and Saturday’s race winner Leonardo Pulcini could only manage fourth for Campos Racing.

Damiano Fioravanti will start fifth for RP Motorsport ahead of team-mate Enaam Ahmed, with the lap times of the top six on the grid separated by just 0.287 seconds.

Another RP Motorsport entry, Kantadhee Kusiri will start seventh ahead of Fortec Motorsport’s Igor Walilko, the pair separated by just 0.007 seconds, while Diego Menchaca of Campos Racing and Ameya Vaidyanathan of Carlin completed the top ten ahead of Julio Moreno and Ye Hongli.

Silverstone Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=1312 /]

12474 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.