Formula Renault 2.0

Norris defeats Defourny for Spa clean sweep

1 Mins read
Lando Norris - Credit: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency / LAT Photographic

Lando Norris completed a race double after adding race two victory at Spa-Francorchamps on Saturday morning to his triumph in the opening race on Friday.

The Briton held the lead at the start, with Max Defourny moving to second after a good start, getting around both Sacha Fenestraz and James Allen on the outside of La Source.

The race was neutralised before the end of the first lap after Jehan Daruvala spun at Les Combes and was collected by Will Palmer, eliminating both and requiring the introduction of the safety car. Ahead of them, Robert Shwartzman appeared to tap Bartlomiej Mirecki into a spin, with many drivers taking avoiding action that may have caused Daruvala to lose control, leaving Palmer with nowhere to go.

Norris led once the safety car left the circuit, but found Defourny a big challenge again, with the Belgian racer passing the Briton on the Kemmel Straight for the lead.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was not to be denied, and lead again by the end of the lap, passing the R-ace GP ace around the outside of Blanchimont, but Defourny returned to the lead into La Source at the start of the next lap.

The two battled hard right until the final laps, when Norris made the pass on the inside of La Source on the penultimate lap, and despite more pressure from Defourny, went on to secure his fourth victory of the season and take over the championship lead.

Fenestraz secured his first NEC podium with third for Tech 1 Racing, while Allen ended his strong Spa weekend with fourth place for JD Motorsport, making a late race pass on Alex Gill, who claimed fifth for Mark Burdett Motorsport.

Allen had been third just after the restart but a mistake at Les Combes dropped him to sixth, but he quickly found a way passed Dorian Boccolacci for fifth before closing down to the battle between Fenestraz and Gill for the podium.

Boccolacci closed up to the battle as well but could do not better than sixth, with the result seeing him drop behind Norris in the championship standings.

Ferdinand Habsburg secured seventh for Fortec Motorsports ahead of Shwartzman, while AVF’s Henrique Chaves and Tech 1 Racing’s Hugo de Sadeleer completed the top ten.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Result

[table id=1342 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.