Norris opens Monza weekend with race one victory

Lando Norris - Credit: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI

Lando Norris continued his impressive start to the season with victory in race one of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship event at Monza.

The British driver secured his third victory of the season after jumping ahead of Dorian Boccolacci at the start, with the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver holding off the challenge of the Tech 1 Racing driver until the chequered flag, winning by 0.532 seconds.

Boccolacci had taken pole position for the race, but found his chance of his first victory of the season denied to him by a first lap move by Norris, with the two drivers up front in a class of their own, with more than twelve seconds separating second place from third.

The battle for the final podium position was not decided until late in the race, with Harrison Scott securing it by less than three-tenths of a second from Monaco race winner Sacha Fenestraz, with the duo swapping places a few times during the fifteen-lap race.

Robert Shwartzman finished on the tail of Fenestraz in fifth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, while Will Palmer was sixth for R-ace GP, just ahead of another Kaufmann entry in the form of Jehan Daruvala.

Max Defourny had a disappointing race to finish only eighth for R-ace GP to drop some all-important points to his championship rivals, while the points-paying positions were completed by JD Motorsport’s Alexey Korneev and Tech 1 Racing’s Hugo de Sadeleer.

Monza Race 1 Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing27:47.123
29Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing+0.532
322Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles+12.538
411Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing+12.805
53Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+13.333
614Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP+15.125
71Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing+15.639
833Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP+19.118
917Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport+20.575
1010Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+23.106
115Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports+26.160
1223Nikita MazepinRUSAVF by Adrian Valles+27.200
1316Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP+28.500
1443Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles+31.403
1524Petru FlorescuROMAVF by Adrian Valles+39.557
1621Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles+44.476
1735Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace+52.625
1831David RichertCANCram Motorsport+53.001
1918James AllenAUSJD Motorsport+1 Lap
RET12Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 RacingRetired
RET62Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET7Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET6Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec MotorsportsRetired