Norris secures opening Red Bull Ring pole

Lando Norris - Credit: DPPI

Lando Norris secured his third pole position of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season as Josef Kaufmann Racing locked out the front row for race one at the Red Bull Ring on Saturday.

Norris led the way early in the session with a time of 1:28.818 and returned to the track to improve that time to a 1:28.712 to take the pole position by 0.290 seconds from team-mate Jehan Daruvala, and added the pole in Austria to his previous poles at Motorland Aragon and Monza.

Max Defourny will start from third place for R-ace GP, 0.333 seconds down on Norris, while Harrison Scott is fourth for AVF, just 0.001 seconds behind the Belgian racer.

After a disappointing test day on Friday, Ferdinand Habsburg had a much better morning on Saturday, with the Fortec Motorsports driver qualifying fifth ahead of Tech 1 Racing’s Dorian Boccolacci.

Will Palmer was seventh for R-ace GP ahead of Tech 1’s Hugo de Sadeleer, while JD Motorsport’s Alexey Korneev and R-ace GP’s Julien Falchero completed the top ten.

The session was curtailed early with 1:20 still on the clock when Italian racer Alessandro Perullo spun his Technorace entry into the gravel trap.

Red Bull Ring Race 1 Qualifying Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:28.712
21Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:29.002
333Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:29.045
422Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles1:29.046
562Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1:29.126
69Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:29.186
714Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:29.301
810Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:29.333
917Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:29.336
1016Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:29.336
1118James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:29.451
126Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:29.495
1321Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:29.528
1412Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:29.653
1511Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:29.705
163Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:29.834
175Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports1:29.856
1844Finlay HutchisonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1:30.112
1935Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace1:30.233