Pawi Proves the Rain Master at the Sachsenring

Khairul Idham Pawi produced another wet-weather masterclass to claim his second Grand Prix victory in torrential conditions at the Sachsenring. The Malaysian rookie showcased his remarkable skill in treacherous conditions, just as he did in Argentina, to win by over eleven seconds from Andrea Locatelli who took his maiden rostrum finish.

Victory for Pawi had seemed highly unlikely after qualifying with the 17 year old starting 20th on the grid but the change in conditions played perfectly into his hands. On the opening lap, Pawi climbed thirteen places up to seventh and as Bo Bendsneyder and Locatelli disputed the lead with polesitter Enea Bastianini ahead of him, Pawi picked off the chasing riders.

At the start of lap four, John McPhee became the surprise leader with the Briton outbraking Locatelli into turn one but by the end of the lap, the Peugeot had been swallowed up by not one, but two Honda Team Asia riders with Pawi and Hiroki Ono powering past on the exit of turn thirteen.

The teammates appeared to be enjoying a level of confidence way above their rivals but Ono was caught out at turn five on lap nine as a near-highside dropped him to fifth. The Japanese rider wouldn’t rescue a second moment six laps later though and his race would end in the gravel trap.

Pawi came perilously close to join his teammate on the sidelines with a brief excursion through the turn one gravel trap costing him four seconds but once he had regrouped, no-one was going to stop him claiming the second win of an extraordinary rookie season. Locatelli fended off the chase group to finish a fine second while Bastianini followed his compatriot home in third.

Jakub Kornfeil showed his wet-weather prowess once again to take fourth ahead of Fabio Di Giannantonio and John McPhee while Jorge Navarro won a race-long battle with his title rival Brad Binder to finish seventh. Jules Danilo was ninth with Assen winner Francesco Bagnaia rounding out the top ten.


Moto3 GoPro Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland (Race Result)

189. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia47:07.76325
255. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing+11.13120
333. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto3+13.35916
484. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+18.54113
54. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto3+20.62011
617. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+20.69810
79. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+20.9109
841. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+23.3338
995. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+30.3187
1021. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+31.0956
1124. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+37.6885
1264. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+45.0054
1319. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+47.7933
1411. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV+48.0732
1544. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+56.9211
1610. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+1:10.787
1765. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+1:13.873
185. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1:14.813
1997. Maximillian KapplerKTMKRM-RZT+1:15.203
2043. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia+1:15.434
2127. Tim GeorgiKTMFreudenberg Racing Team+1:23.906
2299. Danny WebbMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+1:38.548
2320. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing+1 Lap
NC8. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+13 Laps
NC7. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+15 Laps
NC76. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia+16 Laps
NC88. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+17 Laps
NC16. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+17 Laps
NC40. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+19 Laps
NC58. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team+19 Laps
NC77. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia+20 Laps
NC36. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing+27 Laps
NS6. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 TeamNon Starter
NS23. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-RivacoldNon Starter
NS3. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom StarkerNon Starter