Pulcini sets the pace in Friday Silverstone practice

Formula V8 Silverstone July 22nd ©Paul Davies Photography NO UNAUTHORISED USE

Leonardo Pulcini was quickest in two of the three free practice sessions as the EuroFormula Open weekend at Silverstone got underway on Friday.

The championship leader was in sublime form, with the Campos Racing driver’s best time of 1:53.924 coming in the final session under the warm sunshine of the British track.

Pulcini was 0.344 seconds faster than the field, with American teenager Colton Herta second fastest for Carlin, his best time of 1:54.268 also coming in the final session.

Ferdinand Habsburg was third fastest despite being limited to just one practice session for having raced at the circuit earlier this season in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC. The Drivex School racer set a time of 1:54.627 in the opening session, but was forced to watch from the sidelines for the rest of the day.

Diego Menchaca was fourth fastest for Campos Racing ahead of a trio of RP Motorsport drivers, led by Antoni Ptak and followed by Tanart Sathienthirakul and Damiano Fioravanti. Ptak and Fioravanti both set their best times in the opening session, while Sathienthirakul saved his best for the last session.

Julio Moreno was eighth for Campos Racing, while Ye Hongli of BVM Racing was ninth, with the Chinese racer the sole representative for the team this weekend with Daniel Pronenko absent from proceedings.

The top ten was completed by British hopeful Enaad Ahmed of RP Motorsport, who like Habsburg was only permitted to run in one session due to his previous running at Silverstone this year in the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship.

Silverstone Collective Test Results (Combined)

18Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing1:54.1771:55.4731:53.924
298Colton HertaUSACarlin1:55.3001:55.9671:54.268
362Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1:54.627No TimeNo Time
47Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1:55.2011:55.4151:54.751
51Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport1:54.8221:55.5041:55.236
65Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport1:55.5061:56.3601:54.848
73Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1:54.8951:56.0861:56.162
86Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing1:55.2471:55.9951:54.991
921Ye HongliCHNBVM Racing1:55.0111:56.3111:55.086
104Enaam AhmedGBRRP MotorsportNo Time1:55.259No Time
1112Vladimir AtoevRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:55.8681:56.5961:55.271
1272Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:55.3221:56.2381:55.382
1347Keyvan AndresGERCarlin1:55.7521:56.3641:55.448
1437Igor WalilkoPOLFortec Motorsports1:55.7091:57.5591:55.485
1551Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:55.8491:56.9621:55.571
1618Daniele CazzanigaITADAV Racing1:57.5851:56.3501:56.228
172Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport1:56.4981:57.3091:57.790
189Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing1:56.92421:18.5811:56.559