Formula Renault 2.0

Scott holds off Defourny challenge for Red Bull Ring triumph

1 Mins read
Harrison Scott - Credit: Alexandre Guillaumot / DPPI

Harrison Scott secured his second victory in three races as he led from start to finish in race two of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series event at the Red Bull Ring on Sunday.

The British racer held off the challenge of Max Defourny, who after finding his way passed race one nemesis Lando Norris closed the gap to Scott at the front, but the AVF racer held on until the chequered flag to win by 0.456 seconds.

Defourny resumed his battle with Norris from race one, but after being unable to pass and stay ahead of the Briton on Saturday, he was able to make a move stick this time around, but the R-ace GP driver was forced to settle for his second runners-up spot of the weekend.

Norris fell back from the battle for the lead to finish third, with the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver being forced instead to battle Dorian Boccolacci for the final podium position, with the Tech 1 Racing driver making one unsuccessful move on the Briton before finishing just 0.433 seconds adrift at the end.

Henrique Chaves secured his best result of the season for AVF in fifth after making his way passed Will Palmer of R-ace GP on lap thirteen, with the Briton falling away from running fourth early in the race to ending down in sixth.

Jehan Daruvala was seventh for Josef Kaufmann Racing ahead of Fortec Motorsports’ Austrian driver Ferdinand Habsburg, who could not replicate his podium finish from Saturday, while Alexey Korneev took ninth for JD Motorsport.

Sacha Fenestraz secured the final point on offer in tenth after a good battle with his Tech 1 Racing team-mates Hugo de Sadeleer and Gabriel Aubry, who finished eleventh and twelfth respectively.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Result

[table id=1282 /]

12470 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.