Binder Crash Hands McPhee First Win

John McPhee became Moto3’s eighth different winner in eleven races this season after a crash for Brad Binder handed him a maiden victory at Brno. The South African looked set to extend his championship lead with a fourth win of 2016 but as the rain intensified, Binder came unstuck, leaving McPhee perfectly placed to take advantage.

Binder had claimed pole position in the dry on Saturday but with heavy rain soaking the Brno circuit on race day, the order was quickly transformed as unlikely contenders moved to the front. Former Red Bull Rookies champion Jorge Martin was the bravest rider early on, taking the lead at turn one, but Binder and McPhee overhauled him by lap five and slowly distanced the Aspar Mahindra.

Given the conditions, many were looking towards rain-master Khairul Idham Pawi and despite starting 29th on the grid, the Malaysian rampaged up the order. At half distance, Pawi’s progress had taken him past Martin and into a podium spot and a remarkable third wet victory looked a genuine possibility.

Sensing the threat, Binder and McPhee upped the pace but in doing so, the Red Bull KTM Ajo rider pushed just a little too hard at turn one, high-siding his machine as he asked for the power. McPhee inherited the lead and if that news wasn’t good enough, the danger from behind was removed almost simultaneously as Pawi crashed out of second.

Despite a near high-side of his own, McPhee saw out the remaining four laps to secure a memorable victory with Martin taking his first ever Grand Prix rostrum in second. Fabio Di Giannantonio produced the latest stand-out display in an increasingly impressive rookie season, finishing third ahead of teammate Enea Bastianini while Niccolo Antonelli beat Jakub Kornfeil to fifth.

Bo Bendsneyder saw off fellow rookies Joan Mir and Nicolo Bulega to finish a career-best seventh while Jorge Navarro’s tenth place saw the Spaniard move six points closer to the championship lead.


Moto3 HJC Helmets Grand Prix Ceske Republiky (Race Result)

117. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint45:36.08725
288. Jorge MartinMahindraPull & Bear ASPAR Mahindra Team+8.80620
34. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto3+9.77716
433. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto3+10.65413
523. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+13.87211
684. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+15.53310
764. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+15.8199
836. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing+16.2898
98. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+16.4737
109. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+16.6816
1195. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+18.1985
1216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+21.6404
1324. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+31.0073
1411. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV+36.8952
1565. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+43.6511
1698. Karel HanikaKTMFreudenberg Racing Team+57.814
1719. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+1:01.428
1842. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+1:04.134
196. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team+1:27.585
2076. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia+1:27.997
2120. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing+1:33.942
223. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+1:34.610
2358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team+1:34.942
2477. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia+2:08.319
NC55. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing+3 Laps
NC41. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+5 Laps
NC89. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia+5 Laps
NC43. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia+5 Laps
NC40. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+6 Laps
NC21. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraPull & Bear ASPAR Mahindra Team+7 Laps
NC12. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+8 Laps
NC7. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+10 Laps
NC44. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+11 Laps