Binder Leaves it Late to Grab Pole at Brno

Brad Binder snatched pole position in the dying seconds of qualifying at Brno despite having an earlier time chalked off for exceeding track limits. The championship leader eventually got it right on his final lap of the afternoon to deny Andrea Migno a maiden pole position with the Sky VR46 rider forced to settle for a career-best second.

Binder had topped the combined practice timesheets heading into qualifying but Jorge Martin was the surprise pacesetter, clocking a 2:08.138. The Mahindra rider held provisional pole for over fifteen minutes before Enea Bastianini snatched top spot but a sub-2:08 lap was still proving elusive.

That all seemed to have changed with thirteen minutes remaining when Binder shaved four tenths off Bastianini’s benchmark. Crucially though, the South African was adjudged to have run wide at turn nine and his 2:07.684 soon disappeared from the timing screens.

Bastianini regained pole as a result but he was coming under threat from another Aspar Mahindra with Francesco Bagnaia setting red sector times but the Assen winner lost control at turn eleven, losing his grip on a potential pole position and slipping to seventeenth. Perhaps the pressure had told on Bastianini too, as the Gresini rider crashed out himself moments later.

With two key challengers out of play, Migno looked to have timed his run to perfection, going fastest with a 2:07.943, but Binder had finally executed a clean lap just behind him and snatched pole by 0.158s. Bastianini held onto third ahead of Martin while Fabio Di Giannantonio and Nicolo Bulega led the rookie challenge in fifth and sixth respectively.

Niccolo Antonelli starts seventh ahead of Philipp Oettl and another rookie in Aron Canet with Jakub Kornfeil completing the top ten for the SIC squad.


Moto3 HJC Helmets Grand Prix Ceske Republiky (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:07.785
216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR462:07.943
333. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto32:08.042
488. Jorge MartinMahindraPull & Bear ASPAR Mahindra Team2:08.138
54. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto32:08.257
68. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR462:08.333
723. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold2:08.337
865. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing2:08.452
944. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:08.495
1084. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team2:08.496
1117. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint2:08.559
129. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:08.581
1398. Karel HanikaKTMFreudenberg Racing Team2:08.602
1436. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing2:08.613
1558. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team2:08.764
1620. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing2:08.789
1721. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraPull & Bear ASPAR Mahindra Team2:08.808
1876. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia2:08.936
1955. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing2:08.995
2011. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV2:09.012
217. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team2:09.064
2219. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team2:09.121
2340. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate2:09.131
2495. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold2:09.250
2564. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:09.258
2624. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker2:09.287
2712. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint2:09.551
286. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team2:09.651
2989. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia2:09.739
3042. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate2:09.941
3143. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia2:10.604
3277. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia2:11.190
333. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker2:11.333