Castroneves puts Penske on top in final Pocono Practice

Helio Castroneves - Credit: Bret Kelley / IndyCar

Helio Castroneves was quickest in final practice as the Verizon IndyCar Series teams turned their attention to race set-up at Pocono Raceway.

The Brazilian racer took his Team Penske entry to the top of the time sheets with a best effort of 41.1290 seconds to end the run of Mikhail Aleshin, who had been quickest in first practice and in qualifying at the Tricky Triangle.

Castroneves ended the session 0.1472 seconds ahead of Carlos Munoz of Andretti Autosport, while championship leader Simon Pagenaud enjoyed a much better session to finish third for Penske, with the Frenchman set to start the race down in fourteenth.

Two other drivers who enjoyed their final practice outing after struggles in qualifying were Sebastien Bourdais and Scott Dixon, who will start eighteenth and nineteenth respectively on the grid but were fourth and fifth fastest in the final Pocono practice session for KVSH Racing and Chip Ganassi Racing respectively.

Juan Pablo Montoya ended the session in sixth for Team Penske ahead of pole sitter Aleshin of Schmidt Peterson Motorsport, while Ed Carpenter was eighth for his own Ed Carpenter Racing outfit ahead of Will Power and James Hinchcliffe.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, who missed qualifying following a high speed crash during first practice, returned to the track in the final half hour of the session to run twenty-one laps, with the Andretti Autosport racer ending thirteenth fastest.

Pocono Raceway Free Practice 2 Result

13Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske41.1290
226Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport41.2762
322Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske41.3702
411Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing41.4189
59Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing41.4376
62Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske41.4463
77Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports41.4981
820Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing41.5207
912Will PowerAUSTeam Penske41.5405
105James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports41.6043
1110Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing41.6176
1221Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing41.6334
1328Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport41.7223
1414Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises41.7555
1541Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises41.8393
1683Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing41.8425
1798Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport41.8547
1827Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport41.8874
198Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing41.8965
2015Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing42.1281
2188Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing42.1993
2219Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing42.7217