Masters of Formula 3

Eriksson secures dominant Masters of F3 victory

1 Mins read
Joel Eriksson - Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Joel Eriksson added his name to the illustrious list of winners of the Masters of F3 after triumphing during Sunday’s feature race at Zandvoort ahead of a Motopark 1-2-3.

Eriksson retained his lead into the first corner despite the close attention of a fast starting Niko Kari and Callum Ilott, and was relatively untroubled until the chequered flag.

Ilott initially looked to have jumped into the lead at the start, but the tighter line he was forced to take into the turn meant Eriksson and Kari swept into the lead, while Sergio Sette Câmara made it a Motopark 1-2-3, and a Red Bull-backed 2-3, with a great move on the exit of turn one on lap two.

Alexander Albon lost a place off the line to Sette Câmara, and was unable to better fifth for Hitech GP around a circuit notoriously hard not just to pass but to follow other drivers, despite often putting pressure onto Ilott ahead of him.

Pedro Piquet maintained his starting position throughout the race to claim sixth for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of team-mate Anthoine Hubert, who trailed his Brazilian team-mate throughout but was never in a position to make a move.

Alessio Lorandi secured eighth for Carlin ahead of Sam MacLeod, who was one driver who was able to make gains during the race, the British driver moving passed David Beckmann with a handful of laps remaining. MacLeod was able to give Fortec Motorsports a top ten finish on their return to Formula 3, while Beckmann was forced to settle in taking his Mücke Motorsport machine to tenth.

Thomas Randle was eleventh for Double R Racing, just ahead of Harrison Scott, who recovered from a sluggish start to move up to twelfth, including a robust move on Colton Herta at turn one.

Herta finished thirteenth ahead of Ricky Capo of Fortec Motorsport, while Ameya Vaidyanathan took fifteenth, ahead of Guanyu Zhou, who was forced into making a pit stop with seven laps remaining with tyre issues in the fourth of the Motopark entries.

Masters of F3 Feature Race Result

[table id=1393 /]

12474 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Masters of Formula 3

Double R Racing happy with Randle after Masters bow

1 Mins read
Double R Racing were happy with the professional approach to the Masters of F3 event made by Thomas Randle after the Australian finished eleventh on Sunday.
Masters of Formula 3

Callum Ilott: “I always want a bit more”

1 Mins read
Callum Ilott was forced to settle for fourth in the Masters of F3 event at Zandvoort, and felt the circuit is not one that promotes much overtaking in a Formula 3 car.
Masters of Formula 3

Sergio Sette Câmara: “I can't be happy with third”

1 Mins read
Sergio Sette Câmara is looking for answers after feeling his performance at Zandvoort during the Masters of F3 event merited more than just a third place finish.