Formula Renault 2.0

Max Defourny: “We didn’t always have the pace”

1 Mins read
Max Defourny - Credit: Marc de Mattia / DPPI

Max Defourny admitted it was a tough weekend at Paul Ricard as he lost more ground in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship battle to Lando Norris after finishing fourth on Saturday and second on Sunday, both behind his British title rival.

The R-ace GP racer felt more at ease during Sunday’s second race than he had done on Saturday, but still found Norris to be untouchable up front, especially after an early race battle with Dorian Boccolacci that delayed the Belgian a little.

“It was a difficult weekend,” admitted Defourny on on Sunday. “We didn’t always have the pace, but we found more rhythm today.

“I am generally pleased with how I did. I tried to get the better of Lando at the start, but Dorian took advantage. When I regained the position, Lando was already far ahead and uncatchable.”

Defourny had slipped to third in the standings on Saturday with Harrison Scott taking the victory, but the second place on Sunday saw him regain second place, although he sits 39.5 points behind Norris with just the races at Spa-Francorchamps and Estoril to come.

“I am looking forward to Spa,” said Defourny. “We do well there and I will give it my all to get the best possible result.”

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.