Mir Grabs Maiden Moto3 Pole Position in Austria

Joan Mir sprung a surprise in qualifying for the Austrian Grand Prix, claiming his maiden pole position at the Red Bull Ring. The Spanish CEV graduate got the better of championship leader Brad Binder to grab pole, becoming the seventh different rider to top a qualifying session in ten races this season.

Binder held provisional pole after the initial runs with a 1:36.485 but the South African unwittingly assisted Mir in bettering his benchmark time with ten minutes remaining. The Red Bull KTM Ajo rider set a personal best himself but with the Leopard rider locked into his slipstream, Brad was knocked off the top of the leaderboard almost immediately.

Moments after clocking what ultimately proved to be the pole time, Mir suffered a minor spill at turn four after outbraking himself while running with Binder and a second error at turn six saw him explore the Spielberg escape roads. Despite the messy end to the session though, Mir had done enough for a breakthrough pole position.

After being blocked by Albert Arenas on his final lap, Binder had to settle for second while Enea Bastianini missed out on a hat-trick of pole positions, qualifying third overall. Aron Canet was another rookie to shine in fourth ahead of Fabio Quartararo and Francesco Bagnaia while two more rookies make up row three, Nicolo Bulega and Fabio Di Giannantonio lining up either side of Philipp Oettl in seventh and ninth respectively.

Romano Fenati qualified a disappointing eleventh but his weekend disintegrated when Sky VR46 later announced that “following repeated behaviour not in line with the disciplinary rules of a team”, he was being suspended and withdrawn from the race entirely.


Moto3 NeroGiardini Motorrad Grand Prix von Osterreich (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
136. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:36.228
241. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:36.335
333. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:36.600
444. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:36.661
520. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:36.693
621. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:36.843
78. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:36.919
865. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:36.929
94. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:36.950
1064. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:36.965
115. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:36.993
1295. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:37.159
1323. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:37.203
1488. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:37.209
1558. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:37.217
1655. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:37.224
1740. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:37.233
189. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:37.237
1919. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:37.252
2053. Marco BezzecchiMahindraMahindra Racing1:37.280
2116. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:37.308
2211. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:37.462
2362. Stefano ManziMahindraMahindra Racing1:37.538
2412. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:37.589
2584. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:37.619
2676. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:37.644
277. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:37.808
2889. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:37.812
2917. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:37.874
3043. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:38.075
316. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team1:38.250
3242. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:38.347
3324. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:38.395
343. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:38.455
3577. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:39.331