Norris beats Defourny to Paul Ricard race two Pole

Lando Norris - Credit: Alexandre Guillaumot / DPPI

Lando Norris secured his fourth pole position of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season for race two at Paul Ricard on Sunday.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver, who missed out on victory by just 0.152 seconds during Saturday’s opening race having started third on the grid, secured top spot with a time of 2:04.194, and Norris will now be looking to extend his championship lead during the race.

Joining Norris on the front row, albeit 0.224 seconds adrift, will be Max Defourny of R-ace GP, who dropped to third place in the championship standings during Saturday’s race, while Dorian Boccolacci, who provided a staring role by moving from seventeenth to fifth in race one, will start from third for Tech 1 Racing.

Gabriel Aubry made it two Tech 1 Racing drivers inside the top four, while Saturday’s pole sitter and race winner Harrison Scott could only manage fifth on the grid for AVF with Adrian Vallés, although the British driver was only 0.265 seconds off the pole time and only 0.041 seconds off second.

Jehan Daruvala, an early retirement on Saturday, will start sixth for Josef Kaufmann Racing ahead of Fortec MotorsportsFerdinand Habsburg. The final two Tech 1 Racing drivers were eighth and ninth, Sacha Fenestraz ahead of Hugo de Sadeleer, while race one podium finisher Will Palmer could only qualify tenth for R-ace GP.

Paul Ricard Race 2 Qualifying Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing2:04.194
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP2:04.418
39Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing2:04.438
412Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing2:04.452
522Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles2:04.459
61Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing2:04.509
762Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports2:04.571
811Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing2:04.578
910Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2:04.800
1014Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP2:04.919
1117Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport2:04.952
123Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing2:04.968
1316Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP2:05.119
1418James AllenAUSJD Motorsport2:05.188
156Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports2:05.255
1621Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles2:05.416
1731Antoni PtakPOLCram Motorsport2:05.432
187Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports2:05.460
1945Ghislain CordeelBELGMMA Formula Racing2:06.226
2046Finlay HutchisonGBRJD Motorsport2:06.309
2135Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace2:07.239