Formula Renault 2.0

Norris and Defourny share Assen NEC victories

1 Mins read
Lando Norris - Credit: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency / LAT Photographic

Lando Norris and Max Defourny each took a victory as their great 2016 battle raged on at Assen, round five of the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup.

Norris controlled Saturday’s opening race from pole position, pulling clear of the battle ensuing behind, with the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver winning the sixteen-lap race by 4.388 seconds.

Fellow front row starter Jehan Daruvala did not get a good start, falling to fourth behind Dorian Boccolacci and Defourny, but the Indian ace was able to reclaim the podium spot when Defourny made a mistake, with the Belgian also dropping behind Sacha Fenestraz.

Boccolacci secured second for Tech 1 Racing ahead of Daruvala, Fenestraz and Defourny, with the quartet separated by 1.793 seconds at the chequered flag.

Nikita Troitskiy finished sixth on the road, but a five-second penalty for a jump start relegated the Fortec Motorsports driver to tenth, which promoted team-mate Ferdinand Habsburg to sixth ahead of Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Robert Shwartzman, with Bruno Baptista and Hugo de Sadeleer also getting in front of Troitskiy.

Max Defourny - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Max Defourny – Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Norris was on course to claim his second victory of the weekend after another great start on Sunday, but found himself under attack from Defourny after the Belgian had found his way passed Daruvala on lap seven.

Defourny was in great form as the R-ace GP driver harried Norris until making a move for the lead into the chicane on the penultimate lap to take the honours, eventually winning by 1.696 seconds, with the rest of the pack over seven seconds back.

Daruvala held on to claim his second podium of the weekend ahead of Boccolacci and Fenestraz, the top five of the first race repeating the trick in the second event, although in a different order.

After missing out on points in race one, Will Palmer took sixth for R-ace GP ahead of Shwartzman and Habsburg, with Alex Gill of Mark Burdett Motorsport ninth ahead of Troitskiy.

Assen Race 1 Result

[table id=1362 /]

Assen Race 2 Result

[table id=1363 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.