Formula Renault 2.0

Norris untouchable in supreme Paul Ricard showcase

1 Mins read
Lando Norris - Credit: Marc de Mattia / DPPI

Lando Norris was in sublime form once again as he led from lights out to the chequered flag in race two of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 event at Paul Ricard on Sunday.

Having started from pole position, the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver retained the lead at the start despite the close attention of Max Defourny at turn one, and was never troubled thereafter as he steadily pulled away.

Norris ultimately clinched victory at the end of the thirteen lap race by 4.050 from Defourny, who was forced to battle hard with Dorian Boccolacci throughout the race, with the duo switching places twice on the opening lap, with the Tech 1 Racing driver trailing the R-ace GP driver by 0.300 at the chequered flag.

Gabriel Aubry claimed his best finish of the season so far as he took fourth, also for Tech 1 Racing, ahead of team-mate Sacha Fenestraz and Fortec MotorsportsFerdinand Habsburg, with both Fenestraz and Habsburg having moved ahead of Jehan Daruvala of Josef Kaufmann Racing at the start.

Daruvala managed to clinch seventh ahead of the final Tech 1 Racing entry of Hugo de Sadeleer, but Harrison Scott will be kicking himself after finishing ninth, having been running in a comfortable fourth place for AVF by Adrian Vallés only to spin and lose ground with just a handful of laps remaining.

Race 1 podium finisher Will Palmer completed the top ten for R-ace GP after an enjoyable battle with Robert Shwartzman.

But no one was on Norris’ level, as he clinched the rookie championship with four races to spare, and now is eyeing the main title as he sits 29.5 points ahead of Defourny with only the double headers at Spa-Francorchamps and Estoril to come.

Paul Ricard Race 2 Result

[table id=1421 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.