ADAC Formula 4

Ortmann Claims Honours as Series Leader Mawson Crashes

1 Mins read
ADAC Formel 4 - 19. + 21. Lauf 2016 - Zandvoort, NL - Foto: Gruppe C

Mucke Motorsport driver Mike David Ortmann recorded his third win of the season after an almost faultless drive from the front. He’d started on pole for the second ADAC Formula 4 race from Zandvoort and survived a late safety car period to take the chequered flag first.

A strong start from both Mucke drivers saw them leap away from the grid as Ortmann maintained his lead from Lirim Zendeli. Behind them, Mick Schumacher may have started sixth but was not prepared to be held back and quickly joined them in third breaking away from the pack.

Once again a poor start from Janneau Esmeijer dropped him back. He fed into fifth behind Felipe Drugovich, the two continued to battle as a queue quickly formed behind.

Another driver on the move was Joey Mawson. The Australian had been forced to start from twelfth after he failed to set two quick laps in qualifying. He was determined to prove you could overtake around Zandvoort and was soon up to seventh after a few laps of battling.

To the surprise of many, Ortmann failed to break away from team-mate Zendeli as the two became increasingly aware of the encroaching Schumacher.

There was disaster for Mawson with eight minutes to go as he collided with Thomas Preining trying to take seventh. He limped back to the pits, but gave up all chance of points with the field streaming past. This was good news for Schumacher who will be grateful to have minimised the gap.

It was regarded a racing incident and Preining maintained seventh behind Kami Laliberte. The incident had also allowed Jonathan Aberdein to move into tenth claiming the final point. Soon after, a safety car called for the stranded Julian Hanses.

The race was eventually ended under safety car giving Ortmann his third victory of the season from rookie winner Zendeli. Schumacher will be pleased to have maximised his result after his main rival finished at the back.

Drugovich had broken away in the closing laps and recorded his equal best result of the year. Esmeijer just about held onto fifth despite pressure from Laliberte and Preining in the closing laps. In a race long Prema Powerteam battle, Juri Vips beat Juan Manuel Correa to the line, as Aberdein rounded out the top ten.

1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
ADAC Formula 4Formula 3GB3Italian F4

Double F4 champion, GB3 race-winner Bearman joins Ferrari Driver Academy

2 Mins read
ADAC and Italian F4 champion, and GB3 race-winner Oliver Bearman has joined the Ferrari Driver Academy. He becomes the second British FDA driver after Callum Ilott.
ADAC Formula 4Formula 2Formula 3Formula 4Formula Regional European ChampionshipRising Stars

Who is Gianluca Petecof? The Brazilian set for F2 in 2021

4 Mins read
Gianluca Petecof will be joining the Formula 2 grid for 2021 with the rebranded Alpine team, TCF takes a look in how he has got to where he is today.
ADAC Formula 4Formula 3InterviewsItalian F4

Interview: Red Bull Junior Hauger Aiming to Be First Norwegian to Race in Formula 1

3 Mins read
Speaking to The Checkered Flag, Dennis Hauger wants to write his name in history by becoming the first Norwegian Formula 1 driver.