Scott secures opening Paul Ricard pole in Brit 1-2-3

Harrison Scott - Credit: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency / LAT Photographic

Harrison Scott secured pole position for race one at Paul Ricard as he led a trio of British drivers in qualifying on Saturday morning.

The AVF by Adrian Vallés driver secured his second consecutive pole position with a time of 2:04.560 around the Le Castellet circuit on the south of France, with Scott being joined on the front row by R-ace GP driver Will Palmer, while Lando Norris secured third for Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Norris was one of only two drivers to make a mid-session trip to the pits, but was unable to improve significantly enough to take what would have been his fourth Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 pole of the year.

Sacha Fenestraz was the best of the Tech 1 Racing quartet in fourth, 0.399 seconds down on Scott’s pole time, while Robert Shwartzman was fifth for Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Max Defourny, currently second in the championship standings behind Norris, will start sixth for R-ace GP, ahead of the third Kaufmann entry of Jehan Daruvala, while Gabriel Aubry (Tech 1 Racing), Nikita Troitskiy (Fortec Motorsports) and Julien Falchero (R-ace GP) completed the top ten.

However, it was a disappointing session for Dorian Boccolacci, who currently sits fourth in the championship standings, with the French driver down in seventeenth for Tech 1 Racing.

Paul Ricard Race 1 Qualifying Result

122Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles2:04.560
214Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP2:04.823
32Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing2:04.953
411Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing2:04.959
53Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing2:05.131
633Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP2:05.183
71Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing2:05.239
812Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing2:05.292
97Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports2:05.427
1016Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP2:05.546
116Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports2:05.572
1217Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport2:05.631
1321Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles2:05.674
1410Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2:05.690
1562Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports2:05.852
1618James AllenAUSJD Motorsport2:05.860
179Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing2:06.014
1831Antoni PtakPOLCram Motorsport2:06.373
1946Finlay HutchisonGBRJD Motorsport2:06.567
2035Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace2:06.837
2145Ghislain CordeelBELGMMA Formula Racing2:07.078