British Rallycross

Six-in-a-row for Chrissy Palmer in RX150 at Lydden Hill

1 Mins read

Chrissy Palmer took his sixth win of the 2016 RX150 Rallycross Championship season at the latest round in Lydden Hill.

Palmer didn’t have things all his own way as the former Formula Ford Festival winner set the fastest time in Q1, but ended up spinning his buggy in Q3 to finish fourth as newcomer Kirk Langley set the fastest time in that heat.

Those two fastest times were good enough for Palmer to secure Pole Position for the final as he claimed his sixth win of the season, ahead of second-placed Stephen Jones as he set the fastest lap in the qualifying races to claim the bonus points.

Newcomer Langley completed the final podium position in third as Palmer’s nearest rival in the championship Jake Harris finished fourth after having a half spin in the final.

Mitchel Flaherty finished fifth while making her second ODYSSEY Battery celebrity buggy appearance was Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, who finished sixth.

Adam Sargent, Larry Sargent and Kevin Feeney complete the nine finishers at the latest RX150 Rallycross Championship round at Lydden Hill.

Race winner Palmer said “That was very enjoyable! In the early races I wasn’t myself, I was trying a bit too hard, but the big grids were very enjoyable to race in.

“It was a great day’s racing; it always is at rallycross. You can’t have much more fun than this. In the final, I sorted myself out and got on with it. It’s great to win again and I’ll be pushing hard to continue that in the last two races this season.”

Chrissy Palmer is now 50 points ahead of Jake Harris as the RX150 Rally Championships heads to its last two rounds of the 2016 season, starting with Pembrey, Wales on the 25 September 2016.

295 posts

About author
Third Year Birmingham City University Journalism student. I've been dedicating most of my life in motorsport to Formula One. I also have a keen passion for rallying and motorcycle racing.
Related posts
British Rallycross

Patrick O'Donovan challenges the French to close in on Thorne's championship lead

2 Mins read
In an electrifying Rallycross France finale, Patrick O’Donovan claimed the top British spot, while Jack Thorne held strong in second. O’Donovan’s fourth-place overall sets the stage for a thrilling British Rallycross Championship showdown at Lydden Hill.
British Rallycross

Patrick O'Donovan wins Round 5 after schedule changed overnight

2 Mins read
Patrick O’Donovan was confirmed as the winner of Round 5 of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship after the schedule was amended…
British Rallycross

Patrick O'Donovan leaves Irish duo in his dust at Lydden Hill

2 Mins read
Patrick O’Donovan claimed a Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship 5 Nations Trophy victory yet again at the World Rallycross Championship weekend making it win…