Binder Secures Last Gasp Misano Pole

Brad Binder claimed his fourth pole position of 2016 at Misano despite a climax to qualifying that was dominated by traffic. The South African picked his way through the mayhem to break the qualifying record, ensuring he outpaced Italian duo Enea Bastianini and Nicolo Bulega.

Austrian GP winner Joan Mir had finished free practice as the fastest rider but qualifying got off to a tricky start for the Spaniard, his Leopard KTM sidelined for a long spell with apparent mechanical problems. While the rookie watched on, Binder got straight down to business with a 1:42.699 handing him provisional pole at the halfway stage.

The championship leader appeared to be running an alternative strategy to the rest of the field, waiting for the traffic to clear before venturing out alone, but Binder was forced to watch on as Bulega replaced him at the top of the leaderboard, the Sky VR46 rider clocking a 1:42.631.

As the traffic intensified in the dying seconds, Bulega’s time looked set to remain unbeaten but Binder found enough clear track to set a blistering first three sectors. With the finish line in sight, the Ajo rider caught Maria Herrera and lost valuable time but fortunately for him, he already had enough in hand to maintain pole position pace, pipping Bulega by a quarter of a second.

Bastianini shadowed Binder on the final lap and was rewarded with second while Bulega held onto a front row spot despite a late improvement by Jakub Kornfeil. The Czech rider lines up fourth with Estrella Galicia pair Jorge Navarro and Aron Canet alongside while Philipp Oettl heads row three, joined by Hiroki Ono and Juanfran Guevara.


Moto3 GP TIM Di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:42.398
233. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:42.548
38. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:42.631
484. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:42.659
59. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:42.710
644. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:42.842
765. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:42.955
876. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:42.962
958. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:42.985
104. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:43.033
1119. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:43.080
1288. Jorge MartinMahindraGaviota Mahindra Aspar1:43.112
1355. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:43.120
1423. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:43.133
1595. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:43.222
1636. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:43.291
1748. Lorenzo Dalla PortaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:43.345
1811. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:43.348
1920. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:43.490
2062. Stefano ManziMahindraMahindra Racing1:43.684
2164. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:43.761
2216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:43.768
236. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team1:43.793
247. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:43.981
2521. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraGaviota Mahindra Aspar1:43.991
2612. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:44.020
2789. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:44.205
2842. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:44.211
2917. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:44.292
3024. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:44.314
3143. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:44.713
3277. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:44.740
3340. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:44.901
343. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:45.687
3571. Alex FabbriMahindraMinimoto Portomaggiore1:46.133