Defourny leads the way in Spa-Francorchamps tests

Max Defourny - Credit: Florent Gooden / DPPI

Max Defourny ended top of both free practice sessions at Spa-Francorchamps as the penultimate weekend of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season got underway on Friday.

The Belgian was 0.737 seconds clear of the field in the first of the two fifty-minute sessions with a best time of 2:18.513, but despite the field closing to within 0.101 seconds in the second session, Defourny improved his time to a 2:17.663.

Briton Will Palmer and Frenchman Julien Falchero made it a R-ace GP 1-2-4 in the first session, with only Sacha Fenestraz getting amongst the trio for Tech 1 Racing, while Jehan Daruvala completed the top five for Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Fenestraz completed a good day by finishing the second session in second ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg of Fortec Motorsports, who endured a tough opening session as he had a left rear tyre problem that impacted his straightline speed and his steering, while Tech 1 Racing duo Dorian Boccolacci and Hugo de Sadeleer completed the top five.

It was a relatively quiet day for championship leader Lando Norris, with the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver ending sixteenth in the opening session and seventh in the second, with his best time of the day 0.634 seconds back on Defourny.

Spa-Francorchamps Collective Test 1 Result

133Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP2:18.513
214Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP2:19.250
311Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing2:19.537
416Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP2:19.577
51Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing2:19.583
610Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2:19.675
73Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing2:19.734
818James AllenAUSJD Motorsport2:19.787
922Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles2:19.836
1021Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles2:19.903
119Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing2:20.040
1212Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing2:20.174
136Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports2:20.208
147Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports2:20.245
1535Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace2:20.493
162Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing2:20.862
1717Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport2:20.879
1862Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports2:20.934
1945Guislain CordeelBELGMMA Formula Racing2:21.638

Spa-Francorchamps Collective Test 2 Result

133Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP2:17.663
211Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing2:17.764
362Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports2:17.929
49Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing2:18.081
510Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2:18.083
618James AllenAUSJD Motorsport2:18.161
72Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing2:18.297
816Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP2:18.301
93Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing2:18.330
1012Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing2:18.360
1122Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles2:18.377
1214Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP2:18.405
131Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing2:18.421
1417Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport2:18.630
157Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports2:18.634
1621Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles2:18.667
1735Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace2:18.843
186Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports2:18.876
1945Guislain CordeelBELGMMA Formula Racing2:20.016