Espargaro Springs Misano Practice Surprise

by Louis Suddaby

Pol Espargaro set a scorching pace on Friday afternoon as MotoGP’s unpredictable run of races shows signs of continuing at Misano. After seeing seven different riders win the last seven races, Espargaro led a top three comprised of riders who are all still chasing their first win of 2016 with the championship frontrunners close behind.

The winners club of 2016 includes Andrea Iannone but the Ducati rider’s participation at Misano is in serious doubt after a crash during first practice. The Italian crashed at the high-speed turn 13, sliding across the gravel, and was diagnosed with a fracture of the T3 vertebra. Initially, Iannone was declared unfit, bringing his weekend to a premature end, but circuit doctors will reassess him in the morning to determine whether he can continue in FP3.

The afternoon started in warmer conditions than the morning but it was the temperature inside Valentino Rossi’s crash helmet that was climbing. The home favourite appeared to be baulked by Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro on a flying lap and the Yamaha rider reacted furiously, gesturing his displeasure at the Spaniard while he cruised down the pitlane.

The younger Espargaro didn’t put a single wheel wrong though and clocked a 1:32.769 to lead the way overnight with Dani Pedrosa and Andrea Dovizioso joining him in the 1:32s to complete the top three. Jorge Lorenzo showed ominous race pace over longer runs before setting the fourth fastest time while Marc Marquez recovered from a minor spill in FP1 to take fifth, just ahead of Rossi.

British duo Cal Crutchlow and Scott Redding were seventh and eighth respectively ahead of Avintia’s Hector Barbera while Silverstone winner Maverick Vinales rounded out the top ten, fractionally faster than his teammate.


2016 GP TIM Di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini (Friday Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
144. Pol ESPARGAROYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:32.769
226. Dani PEDROSAHondaRepsol Honda Team1:32.834
34. Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiDucati Team1:32.901
499. Jorge LORENZOYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:33.056
593. Marc MARQUEZHondaRepsol Honda Team1:33.196
646. Valentino ROSSIYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:33.387
735. Cal CRUTCHLOWHondaLCR Honda1:33.500
845. Scott REDDINGDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich1:33.552
98. Hector BARBERADucatiAvintia Racing1:33.581
1025. Maverick VINALESSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:33.629
1141. Aleix ESPARGAROSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:33.643
129. Danilo PETRUCCIDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich1:33.803
1319. Alvaro BAUTISTAApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:33.846
1451. Michele PIRRODucatiDucati Team1:33.885
156. Stefan BRADLApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:34.126
1643. Jack MILLERHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:34.143
1722. Alex LOWESYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:34.154
1850. Eugene LAVERTYDucatiPull & Bear Aspar Ducati Team1:34.457
1929. Andrea IANNONEDucatiDucati Team1:34.699
2068. Yonny HERNANDEZDucatiPull & Bear Aspar Ducati Team1:34.719
2153. Tito RABATHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:34.725
2212. Xavi FORESDucatiAvintia Racing1:36.046

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More