Habsburg on pole for home event, Calderon on front row

Ferdinand Habsburg - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Ferdinand Habsburg secured his third pole position of the EuroFormula Open season in front of his home fans, while Tatiana Calderon will join him on the front row.

After setting the pace in practice on Friday, Habsburg took his Drivex School machine to the top of the time sheets on Saturday morning at the Red Bull Ring, with his best time of 1:24.863 more than three-tenths of a second faster than Calderon, who is making her return to the championship this weekend with RP Motorsport.

Colton Herta will start third for Carlin, and will be looking to build on his maiden podium finish last time out at Silverstone with another strong performance on Saturday, while the young American will be joined on the second row of the grid by championship leader Leonardo Pulcini of Campos Racing.

Herta and Pulcini will be looking to avoid a repeat of their race two clash at Silverstone that left both drivers well out of contention for points when running at the sharp end of the grid.

Tanart Sathienthirakul will start fifth for RP Motorsport ahead of Campos Racing’s Diego Menchaca, while series debutant Nikita Troitskiy was seventh in the second Drivex School entry.

Keyvan Andres of Carlin was eighth quickest, while RP Motorsport duo Antoni Ptak and Damiano Fioravanti completed the top ten for this afternoon’s opening race of the weekend.

Red Bull Ring Race 1 Qualifying Result

162Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1:24.863
24Tatiana CalderonCOLRP Motorsport1:25.174
398Colton HertaUSACarlin1:25.636
48Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing1:25.661
55Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport1:25.698
67Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1:25.787
791Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School1:25.846
847Keyvan AndresGERCarlin1:25.908
91Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport1:25.979
103Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1:26.097
116Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing1:26.159
1251Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:26.390
132Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport1:26.504
1418Ricardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing1:26.508
1512Vladimir AtoevRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:26.789
1672Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:26.952
1720Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing1:27.103
189Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing1:27.483