Herta denies Habsburg to take Sunday pole in Austria

Colton Herta - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Fresh off his maiden EuroFormula Open victory on Saturday, Colton Herta secured his second pole position of the season for race two at the Red Bull Ring on Sunday despite seeing his best time deleted for track limit offences.

Herta set a best lap of 1:24.678 that was deleted due to track limits at turn nine, but his lap of 1:24.867 was still enough to secure pole position for the Carlin driver ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg of Drivex School by 0.061 seconds.

Championship leader Leonardo Pulcini will start third for Campos Racing ahead of a trio of RP Motorsport drivers, Tanart Sathienthirakul ahead of Antoni Ptak and Saturday’s podium finisher Tatiana Calderon, while Diego Menchaca was eighth for Campos Racing.

Campos Racing and RP Motorsport both had work to do overnight to repair damaged cars from the race one, turn one crash, with Menchaca, Julio Moreno and Gulhuseyn Abdullayeu of Campos and Ptak and Kusiri Kantadhee of RP all suffering extensive damage to their cars.

For Abdullayeu, the qualifying came too soon and he was unable to take to the track, but the other four drivers all participated in the session.

Ameya Vaidyanathan, fresh off his first points finish of the season on Saturday, will start eighth for Carlin ahead of Nikita Troitskiy of Drivex School, while Damiano Fioravanti completes the top ten for RP Motorsport.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Qualifying Result

198Colton HertaUSACarlin1:24.867
262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1:24.928
38Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing1:25.037
45Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport1:25.231
51Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport1:25.327
64Tatiana CalderonCOLRP Motorsport1:25.341
77Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1:25.350
851Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:25.459
991Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School1:25.482
103Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1:25.491
112Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport1:25.795
1212Vladimir AtoevRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:25.937
1318Ricardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing1:25.942
1447Keyvan AndresGERCarlin1:26.048
1572Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:26.474
1620Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing1:26.711
176Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing1:27.177
189Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos RacingNo Time