Herta dominates to double up at the Red Bull Ring

Colton Herta - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Colton Herta was untouchable as he secured his second EuroFormula Open victory of the weekend at the Red Bull Ring, leading from start to finish on Sunday.

The young American converted his pole position into a first corner lead with relative ease, and the Carlin driver then confidently pulled a gap at the front, ultimately winning by 12.264 seconds, and brought himself firmly into the championship battle.

Herta’s closest challenge came from championship leader Leonardo Pulcini, but even the Italian could not keep up with the American, although the Campos Racing driver was never under pressure himself in second.

Diego Menchaca made it two Campos drivers on the podium, although he profited from a spin from Antoni Ptak ahead of him to make it to third, with the RP Motorsport driver losing it on the exit of the final turn and falling to thirteenth as a result.

Nikita Troitskiy secured a good fourth place finish for Drivex School on his series debut, holding off the challenge of RP Motorsport’s Tatiana Calderon, who added a fifth place finish to her podium from race one.

Tanart Sathienthirakul briefly threatened to pass his team-mate but ultimately dropped more than five seconds back at the chequered flag, while Ameya Vaidyanathan was seventh for Carlin, scoring points for a second consecutive afternoon on a breakthrough weekend for the Indian racer.

Damiano Fioravanti had a quiet afternoon to finish eighth for RP Motorsport ahead of Julio Moreno, who climbed from the back of the grid to finish ninth for Campos Racing, while Riccardo Cazzaniga claimed the final point for DAV Racing.

It was a disappointing day for Ferdinand Habsburg however, who appeared to make a good start from the front row of the grid only to appear unable to get to top speed, dropping back through the pack before retiring in the pits on just the third lap.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Result

198Colton HertaUSACarlin27:16.467
28Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing+12.264
37Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+17.070
491Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School+20.475
54Tatiana CalderonCOLRP Motorsport+21.138
65Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport+26.250
751Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin+28.053
83Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+30.287
96Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing+31.054
1018Ricardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing+34.557
1172Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+40.893
122Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport+41.315
131Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport+41.864
1412Vladimir AtoevRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+42.302
1520Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing+1:12.573
16/RET47Keyvan AndresGERCarlin+4 Laps
RET62Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex SchoolRetired
DNS9Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos RacingDid Not Start