Norris grabs opening Spa-Francorchamps pole

Lando Norris - Credit: Eric Vargiolu / DPPI

Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship leader Lando Norris took his fifth pole position of the season for race one at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver led a close qualifying session at the Belgian track, with his 2:18.299 just 0.026 seconds faster than Tech 1 Racing’s Dorian Boccolacci.

Norris can clinch the title this weekend as the five-time race winner sits 39.5 points clear in the standings, and his main championship rival Max Defourny qualified third for R-ace GP, a further 0.058 seconds behind Boccolacci.

Defourny’s team-mate Will Palmer was fourth fastest, only 0.023 seconds behind the Belgian, with Tech 1 Racing duo Sacha Fenestraz and Hugo de Sadeleer fifth and sixth respectively, while Harrison Scott, who like Boccolacci is an outside bet for the title this year, was only seventh for the AVF by Adrian Vallés outfit.

Jehan Daruvala and Robert Shwartzman were eighth and tenth respectively for Josef Kaufmann Racing, either side of JD Motorsport’s Alexey Korneev.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 1 Qualifying Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing2:18.299
29Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing2:18.325
333Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP2:18.383
414Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP2:18.406
511Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing2:18.506
610Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2:18.543
722Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles2:18.573
81Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing2:18.705
917Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport2:18.806
103Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing2:18.864
1118James AllenAUSJD Motorsport2:19.011
1212Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing2:19.172
137Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports2:19.291
1462Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports2:19.355
156Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports2:19.377
1616Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP2:19.458
1721Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles2:19.517
1835Alessandro PerulloITATechnorace2:19.652
1945Guislain CordeelBELGMMA Formula Racing2:20.002