Norris survives Nurburgring fog and Defourny challenge for race 2 win

Lando Norris - Credit: Alexandre Guillaumot / DPPI

Lando Norris extended his championship advantage at the Nurburgring after leading from start to finish in a shortened and safety car affected second race on Sunday.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver was forced to wait more than forty minutes for the race to start after heavy fog enveloped the circuit, and because of the delay the race was shortened to just nineteen minutes rather than the twenty-five it was originally scheduled.

Norris got a perfect getaway to comfortably lead into the first turn and had pulled out a gap before the safety car was called upon after a first corner incident that left race one winner, and Norris’ team-mate, Robert Shwartzman stranded on the outside of the turn.

Shwartzman had made a sluggish getaway and had fallen into the clutches of drivers from behind, and found himself on the outside of three other cars, with the Russian driver being hit and turned around by one of the Tech 1 Racing machines.

When the race restarted, it was not for long as Dorian Boccolacci saw his championship chances fade when he spun while battling team-mate Hugo de Sadeleer and R-ace GP’s Marcus Armstrong, collecting the innocent Ferdinand Habsburg and necessitating the use of the safety car once more.

When the safety car left the track again, Norris led away but was tailed by R-ace GP’s Max Defourny, who threatened to attack the Briton only to fall 0.442 seconds short at the chequered flag, flown after just nine laps.

Jehan Daruvala made it two Josef Kaufmann Racing drivers on the podium with third place, ahead of the impressive Armstrong, who came out on top of the battle with the Tech 1 Racing drivers de Sadeleer and Sacha Fenestraz.

Julien Falchero was seventh for R-ace GP ahead of Bruno Baptista of Fortec Motorsports, while James Allen and Alexej Korneev of JD Motorsport completed the top ten.

Nurburgring Race 2 Result

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing20:18.086
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP+0.442
31Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing+2.901
415Marcus ArmstrongNZLR-Ace GP+4.316
510Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+5.726
611Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing+6.239
716Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP+7.718
86Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports+9.573
918James AllenAUSJD Motorsport+9.793
1017Alexej KorneevRUSJD Motorsport+11.942
1112Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing+12.969
1296Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team+13.893
137Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports+14.388
1424Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles+14.903
1527Alex GillGBRMark Burdett Motorsport+15.474
1677Laurents HorrGERDutt Motorsport+16.080
1721Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles+18.395
1830Aleksandr VartanyanRUSFortec Motorsports+19.647
1932Kasper LarsenDENKEO Racing+22.115
2028Finlay HutchinsonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport+23.234
2142Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF by Adrian Valles+28.964
RET9Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 RacingRetired
RET62Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET3Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann RacingRetired