Palmer and Defourny lead the way for R-ace GP at Hockenheim

Will Palmer - Credit: Alexandre Guillaumot / DPPI

R-ace GP duo Will Palmer and Max Defourny finished fastest in the two free practice sessions at the season closing Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup event at the Hockenheimring on Friday.

Palmer led Defourny in the opening session with a best time of 1:38.241 as the R-ace GP duo led a trio of Josef Kaufmann Racing entries led by championship leader Lando Norris, who is bidding to win his second 2.0-litre title in as many weeks after clinching the Eurocup title at Spa-Francorchamps.

Norris’ team-mates Jehan Daruvala and Robert Shwartzman were fourth and fifth, with Tech 1 Racing taking the next three places, Gabriel Aubry taking sixth ahead of team-mates Dorian Boccolacci and Hugo de Sadeleer.

James Allen was ninth for JD Motorsport, while Bartlomiej Mirecki completed the top ten for the BM Racing Team.

Defourny, who goes into the weekend sitting second place in the standings albeit 38 points behind Norris, was quickest in the second session with a time of 1:37.445 to finish ahead of Palmer, with Boccolacci third ahead of Norris and Sacha Fenestraz of Tech 1 Racing.

De Sadeleer was sixth ahead of Shwartzman, while Alex Gill was eighth for Mark Burdett Motorsport, with Aubry ninth and Henrique Chaves tenth for AVF by Adrian Vallés.

Hockenheimring Free Practice 1 Result

114Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:38.241
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:38.641
32Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:38.771
41Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:38.930
53Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:38.957
612Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:39.029
79Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:39.275
810Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:39.338
918James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:39.450
1096Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team1:39.477
1116Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:39.501
1211Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:39.505
1317Aleksey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:39.507
1427Alex GillGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1:39.510
1521Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:39.938
166Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:40.057
1777Laurents HorrGERDutt Motorsport1:40.275
1824Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles1:40.553
1930Aleksandr VartanyanRUSFortec Motorsports1:40.765
2028Finlay HutchinsonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1:40.865
2142Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF by Adrian Valles1:42.735
2294Philippe HaezebrouckFRAInter Europol Competition1:43.938

Hockenheimring Free Practice 2 Result

133Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP1:37.445
214Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1:37.898
39Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1:37.935
42Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1:38.012
511Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1:38.086
610Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1:38.141
73Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1:38.145
827Alex GillGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1:38.189
912Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:38.200
1021Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1:38.286
1116Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1:38.292
1217Aleksey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1:38.449
131Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1:38.450
1430Aleksandr VartanyanRUSFortec Motorsports1:38.470
156Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1:38.538
1618James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1:38.576
1777Laurents HorrGERDutt Motorsport1:39.203
1828Finlay HutchinsonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport1:39.220
1924Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles1:39.329
2096Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team1:39.728
2142Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF by Adrian Valles1:41.851
2294Philippe HaezebrouckFRAInter Europol Competition1:43.401