Pedrosa Becomes Eighth Winner of 2016 at Misano

Dani Pedrosa successfully chased down Valentino Rossi to claim a stunning victory at Misano to make Grand Prix motorcycle racing history. The Spaniard returned to form in sensational style to become MotoGP’s eighth different winner in eight races, the first time such a sequence has occurred in premier class history.

After claiming a 1-2 on the grid in qualifying, many were expecting the two Movistar Yamahas to dispute the victory amongst themselves and initially, that was what we got. Jorge Lorenzo led away from pole position, streaking clear of Rossi on the opening lap, but the home favourite soon got on terms before an aggressive move on lap two saw him hit the front at turn fourteen.

Rossi established a one-second lead over his teammate who was starting to come under pressure from Marc Marquez but the other Repsol Honda was emerging as a threat, setting a succession of fastest laps. Pedrosa had started from the third row but by the end of lap six, he had overhauled Maverick Vinales for fourth with only his teammate and the factory Yamahas in front of him.

The lap record soon fell to Pedrosa and Marc Marquez soon dropped behind him with the 30 year old diving up the inside of the championship leader into turn fourteen while an identical move three laps later deprived Lorenzo of second. Rossi still enjoyed a one-second cushion but nothing was going to stop Pedrosa who obliterated the deficit before barging the Italian aside at Rio six laps from home.

With Rossi unable to give chase, Pedrosa eased to his first win since Sepang 2015 with Rossi comfortably holding off Lorenzo for third. Marquez came home a lonely fourth, losing seven points to his championship rival, while Vinales beat Andrea Dovizioso to fifth despite having to let the Ducati through at one stage for exceeding track limits.

Michele Pirro rounded off a fine weekend with seventh across the line with Cal Crutchlow seeing off Pol Espargaro for the honour of top independent rider. Alvaro Bautista took tenth for Aprilia but Alex Lowes couldn’t round off another impressive showing with points after crashing out on lap eight.


2016 GP TIM Di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini (Race Result)

126. Dani PEDROSAHondaRepsol Honda Team43:43.52425
246. Valentino ROSSIYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP+2.83720
399. Jorge LORENZOYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP+4.35916
493. Marc MARQUEZHondaRepsol Honda Team+9.56913
525. Maverick VINALESSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR+15.46711
64. Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiDucati Team+19.67610
751. Michele PIRRODucatiDucati Team+22.9369
835. Cal CRUTCHLOWHondaLCR Honda+25.7028
944. Pol ESPARGAROYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 3+27.1557
1019. Alvaro BAUTISTAApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini+33.9686
119. Danilo PETRUCCIDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich+39.2065
126. Stefan BRADLApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini+39.9674
138. Hector BARBERADucatiAvintia Racing+42.9973
1450. Eugene LAVERTYDucatiPull & Bear Aspar Ducati Team+49.4502
1545. Scott REDDINGDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich+54.8791
1668. Yonny HERNANDEZDucatiPull & Bear Aspar Ducati Team+1:05.072
1753. Tito RABATHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS+5 Laps
NC12. Xavi FORESDucatiAvintia Racing+13 Laps
NC22. Alex LOWESYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 3+21 Laps
NS43. Jack MILLERHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDSInjured