Allen takes maiden victory in season finale at Hockenheim

James Allen - Credit: Antonin Grenier / DPPI

James Allen made the most of a jump-start from polesitter Sacha Fenestraz to claim his maiden Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup victory in the season finale at the Hockenheimring on Sunday.

The JD Motorsport driver jumped into the lead as Fenestraz crept forward before the lights went out before stopping again and getting delayed when the race did actually get going, with Allen also making it passed Bartomiej Mirecki, who started on the front row.

Fenestraz dropped to sixth as a result of his slow getaway but the obvious jump-start was punished with a drive-through penalty that put him well out of contention.

Allen pulled away from Mirecki, before both he and Alex Gill, who was running third in the early laps, found themselves caught and passed by Max Defourny, who then attempted to close down the almost four-second advantage of Allen over the remaining laps.

Lando Norris also found his way passed both drivers to complete the podium, with the series champion ending the year on a relative high on the lower step of the podium for Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Mirecki held onto fourth ahead of Gill, while Hugo de Sadeleer took advantage of a mistake from Tech 1 Racing team-mate Dorian Boccolacci that delayed Bruno Baptista to take sixth. Following his race two crash earlier in the day, Baptista was able to take seventh for Fortec Motorsports ahead of Boccolacci, while Jehan Daruvala and Julien Falchero completed the top ten.

The race ended behind the safety car when Will Palmer spun off into the gravel trap in the stadium complex, meaning Allen’s lead was not challenged despite Defourny being between three and four-tenths of a second faster every lap.

Hockenheimring Race 3 Result

118James AllenAUSJD Motorsport27:30.693
233Max DefournyBELR-Ace GP+0.345
32Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing+0.659
496Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing Team+1.209
527Alex GillGBRMark Burdett Motorsport+1.514
610Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+1.589
76Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports+2.059
89Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing+2.591
91Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing+3.143
1016Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP+3.489
1130Aleksandr VartanyanRUSFortec Motorsports+3.669
1277Laurents HorrGERDutt Motorsport+4.123
133Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+4.429
1417Aleksey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport+5.005
1524Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles+5.403
1611Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing+5.724
1728Finlay HutchinsonGBRMark Burdett Motorsport+6.344
1842Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF by Adrian Valles+6.796
1912Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing+7.241
2094Philippe HaezebrouckFRAInter Europol Competition+8.117
RET14Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GPRetired
DNS21Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian VallesDid Not Start