Binder Takes Phillip Island Pole in Frantic Finish

Brad Binder claimed his fifth pole position of the 2016 season after a frenetic conclusion to qualifying at Phillip Island. The world champion emerged on top after a four minute sprint at the end of the session, brought about by a red flag stoppage for Juanfran Guevara’s heavy accident at turn twelve.

Terrible weather conditions had wreaked havoc with the three practice sessions and right on cue, rain started to fall within seconds of the green light signalling the start of qualifying. As a result, the opening laps were carried out on wet tyres but strong winds soon dried the circuit out again, prompting Philipp Oettl to set the first lap time on slicks twenty minutes in.

Nicolo Bulega was another rider to make an early switch to dry tyres and with a quarter of an hour remaining, the rookie took over at the top. The Sky VR46 rider’s session looked to have been ended early though when he came across a touring Francesco Bagnaia at the last corner, sending him tumbling into the gravel trap.

An unexpected reprieve came in the form of Guevara’s crash with the RBA rider suffering a nasty high-side exiting turn twelve and with the Spaniard requiring trackside assistance, race direction were forced to halt the session with four minutes to go.

The stoppage bought Sky VR46 time to repair Bulega’s machine and the Italian looked set to reward his mechanics with pole position after clocking a 1:38.487 in the final minute. Crucially though, Nicolo was delayed by Fabio Di Giannantonio on his final lap, opening the door for Binder to snatch pole position.

Fabio Quartararo slipstreamed behind Binder to grab second with Bulega relegated to third while Gabriel Rodrigo took a fine fourth ahead of John McPhee and Livio Loi, two riders who boast wet-weather victories on their CV. Motegi polesitter Andrea Migno qualified seventh ahead of Darryn Binder while Jorge Martin edged out Aspar team-mate Bagnaia for ninth, although the latter may find himself in hot water for his part in Bulega’s spill.


Moto3 Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:37.696
220. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:37.790
38. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:38.487
419. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:38.570
517. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:38.661
611. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:38.776
716. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:38.981
840. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:39.195
988. Jorge MartinMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra1:39.272
1021. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra1:39.347
1136. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:39.353
1264. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:39.439
139. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:39.448
146. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team1:39.472
1555. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:39.485
1633. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:39.513
1795. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:39.551
1889. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:39.589
1923. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:39.624
2065. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:39.630
214. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:39.675
2244. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:39.740
237. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:39.828
2458. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:39.890
2584. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:40.110
2624. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:40.169
2712. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:40.236
2848. Lorenzo Dalla PortaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:40.412
2976. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:40.537
3043. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:40.969
3142. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:40.996
323. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:41.198
3377. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:41.410
NQ14. Matt BartonFTR HondaSuus Honda1:45.537