Binder Victorious After Phillip Island Mayhem

by Louis Suddaby

Brad Binder showed the class of a champion once again to claim victory in an Australian Grand Prix punctuated by a succession of multiple rider pile-ups. The South African eased to a comfortable win ahead of Andrea Locatelli but a four-rider accident which brought out the red flag midway through overshadowed proceedings.

The first incident came at the second corner with five riders tangling at the Southern Loop including GP winners Khairul Idham Pawi and Joan Mir, as well as Aron Canet. Front-row qualifier Nicolo Bulega crashed out himself moments later and to complete a disastrous sequence of laps for the rookies, Fabio Di Giannantonio was wiped out at MG by the aggressive Gabriel Rodrigo.

The same tight hairpin would also see the incident which halted the Grand Prix when John McPhee losing the front end of his Peugeot coming over Lukey Heights. Andrea Migno and Enea Bastianini were powerless to avoid the Scotsman while Jorge Navarro was also held up by the mayhem, clattering into the unfortunate Bastianini. Race direction were left with no option but to stop the race and once all riders were found to be conscious, attention turned to an upcoming ten lap sprint to the finish.

The second part of the race proved to be a procession for Binder with most of his regular rivals eliminated in part one and the world champion cruised to victory ahead of Locatelli who gave Leopard some cheer after Fabio Quartararo was relegated to the back of the grid for an illegal ECU setting in qualifying, a penalty that applied to both parts of the race.

Despite crashing twice in part one, Aron Canet was rewarded for keeping his Honda running as he snatched the last podium spot in part two, edging out Darryn Binder, younger brother of Brad. Livio Loi was fifth ahead of Jorge Martin while Spanish rookie Marcos Ramirez finished a superb seventh on the second Platinum Bay Real Estate Mahindra.

Hiroki Ono claimed eighth spot ahead of Jules Danilo while Bo Bendsneyder rounded out the top ten, just 0.764s off the rostrum.


Moto3 Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix (Race Result)

141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo16:22.00925
255. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing+5.93720
344. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+9.59416
440. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+9.64213
511. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV+9.68011
688. Jorge MartinMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra+9.75010
742. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+9.9969
876. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia+10.1158
995. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+10.1427
1064. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+10.3586
117. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+10.4475
1220. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing+10.5694
1324. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+10.6823
1465. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+10.9792
156. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team+13.7631
1612. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+13.821
1777. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia+28.297
183. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+42.036
1948. Lorenzo Dalla PortaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+50.454
2014. Matt BartonFTR HondaSuus Honda+1:23.446
NC19. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+1 Lap
NC9. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+1 Lap
NC43. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia+2 Laps
NC23. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+10 Laps
NS8. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46
NS16. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46
NS17. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint
NS36. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing
NS21. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraPull & Bear Aspar Mahindra
NS89. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia
NS33. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto3
NS4. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto3
NS58. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team
NS84. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More