Formula Ford

Davidson Dominates Historic and Last Chance Race, Qualifies for Final

1 Mins read
Credit: Jack Mitchell / JAM Motorpsort Photography

In another thrilling Last Chance Formula Ford Festival race, the fast starting Alan Davidson took victory. He had started fifth but scythed his way through the order in the opening two laps. Davidson had also taken the win in the Historic race an hour earlier.

It had been Klaus-Dieter Hackel who’d started on pole for the last chance, but sadly the #45 couldn’t hold on. Behind him, Eoin Murray had had a poor start and before tangling with another driver at Druids, knocking them both off and calling out the safety car.

Davidson, who had made a lightning start, was leading having taken the lead just before the yellow flags. He’d demoted the original leader Matt Round-Garrido but with the top six making their way to the final, all eyes were on the battle behind.

Ben Tinkler may have been in Pre ’90 car, but held on for third as Jay Bridger gained seven positions to finish fourth. Behind them, it was dead-heat over the line for Tom McArthur and Martin Byford.

The Festival Final from Brands Hatch will likely start at 17:15 depending on delays.

In the earlier Formula Ford Historic race, Davidson had taken victory by four seconds. Conor Murphy had started on pole thanks to being in the quicker Semi-Final. The Historic race is an opportunity for the older classes (pre ’90 and pre ’82 cars) collect silverware.

Away from the start, pre-race favourite Job van Uitert challenged for the lead, but was edged onto the grass by Murphy going down into Graham Hill bend. He ran very wide and rejoined further down. He made his way back to second, his recovery being the story of the race.

Back at the front, a rapid start from Davidson saw him storm off into second before taking the lead a lap later. He would continue to break away as Murphy held off Hackel who would finish third and fourth respectively. The top six was rounded out by Tinkler and Stuart Kestenbaum who also won the Pre ’82 class.

Credit: Nick Smith /
1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
Formula FordTruck Racing

Oleksandr Medvedchenko among scholarship recipients from Zelenskyy

2 Mins read
Oleksandr Medvedchenko, 4× Soviet Formula Easter champion who raced Ukraine’s only European Truck Racing Championship entry, got a 2-year scholarship from President Volodymyr Zelenskyy in December.
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.