Fioravanti takes first pole of 2016 at Monza

Damiano Fioravanti - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

Damiano Fioravanti secured his first EuroFormula Open pole position of 2016 as the Italian looks to turn around his relatively disappointing season to date at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Saturday.

The RP Motorsport driver had hoped to be in the championship reckoning this season after a strong ending to the 2015 season, but currently sits fifth in the standings, morning than 100 points behind championship leader Leonardo Pulcini with six races of the season remaining.

Fioravanti took top spot at his home event with a lap of 1:44.755, which was enough to beat Campos Racing’s Pulcini by 0.081 seconds.

Sam MacLeod was an excellent third on his return to the series for Fortec Motorsports, finishing just 0.227 seconds off the pole position time, while he will be joined on the second row by Colton Herta, who claimed both victories at the Red Bull Ring last time out for Carlin.

Julio Moreno put his Campos Racing machine into fifth ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg of Drivex School, who will be hoping for a much better race performance as he aims to close the gap to Pulcini in the championship.

Diego Menchaca will start seventh in the third of the Campos entries, ahead of RP Motorsport’s Enaam Ahmed, while Keyvan Andres and Antoni Ptak complete the top ten.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Race 1 Qualifying Result

13Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1:44.755
28Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing1:44.836
328Sam MacLeodGBRFortec Motorsports1:44.982
498Colton HertaUSACarlin1:44.988
56Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing1:45.190
662Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1:45.202
77Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1:45.202
84Enaam AhmedGBRRP Motorsport1:45.390
947Keyvan AndresGERCarlin1:45.472
101Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport1:45.474
1121Ye HongliCHNBVM Racing1:45.546
125Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport1:45.546
1391Nikita TroitskiyRUSDrivex School1:45.657
1472Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:45.657
152Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport1:45.714
1651Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1:45.991
1718Danielle CazzanigaITADAV Racing1:46.410
1865Ricardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing1:46.711
199Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing1:46.941
2020Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing1:51.274