Malvern Fights Back to Win Four-Car Battle in Semi-Final 2

Credit: Jack Mitchell / JAM Motorsport Photography

Despite dropping to as low as fourth, Scott Malvern proved his Formula Ford Festival credentials by battling back to the front in the second Semi-Final. The Mygale‘s would eventually take a one-two after a four car fight for the win.

It was a clean start around the first corner, but the racing didn’t last long as third place Andy Charsley spun at the hairpin. His rear wheel was knocked off as the field all took avoiding action. Elsewhere Parker Thompson damaged his chassis, parking his car on the way down to Graham Hill. Both drivers end their weekend early as a result.

A safety car was called to clear the debris. Unfortunately for Neil MacLennan, he didn’t see the boards and barreled along the main straight. Meeting a group of slow weaving cars, he took avoiding action and slammed into the barrier on the outside of Paddock Hill.

On the restart, it was Malvern who led the field away, as Luke Williams hounded his rival. It soon became a queue for the lead as the front two were almost banging wheels. Behind them Chris Middlehurst kept them in check as the quick starting Patrik Pasma also joined the frame.

On lap nine, Williams switched back on Malvern to take the lead despite heavy pressure from Middlehurst. Four cars became involved for the lead as Pasma made his way past to take third from Middlehurst.

Pasma was not done yet though. Both Malvern and himself was determined to regain ground and shuffled their way past Williams who was later demoted to fourth.

Malvern lead the final lap, pulling out enough of a gap to not feel pressured across the line. The young Finnish prospect of Pasma took an excellent second, despite starting ninth as Williams regained third in the final corner.

As a result, Middlehurst lost out in the incredible fight for success as Chase Owen recovered to follow them home in fifth. Completing the top seven was Jordan Dempsey and Joey Foster, both of whom had caught the leading train on the final lap. Meanwhile, eighth eventually went to Pedro Matos, over two seconds further back.