Ono Penalty Hands Migno Maiden Pole

Andrea Migno will start from the first pole position of his career in tomorrow’s Japanese Grand Prix after a penalty for Hiroki Ono. The Team Asia rider topped the timesheets in qualifying but any hopes of pole position on home soil were dashed by a three place grid penalty for irresponsible riding in FP1 yesterday, promoting Migno to the front of the grid.

Although Ono wouldn’t have been considered a pole position candidate prior to the session, the Japanese rider was competitive throughout, taking provisional pole at the halfway stage. His spell on top was ended by Nicolo Bulega but a dramatic final minute saw everything turned on its head again.

In typical Moto3 fashion, traffic dominated the closing stages with Bulega choosing to ride through the pit-lane to shake off the pack of riders following him. Enea Bastianini was able to find enough space to clock a 1:56.664 but within seconds, he was punted back down to third as Brad Binder took pole, followed in rapid succession by Migno and Ono.

Ono eventually emerged as the fastest man but Migno’s lap in the slipstream of Binder proved crucial as the Sky VR46 rider took pole, a tenth ahead of the new world champion. Bastianini will round out the front row ahead of Ono with Bulega relegated to fifth, just ahead of the third Sky VR46 KTM of Lorenzo Dalla Porta.

Niccolo Antonelli qualified seventh despite being caught up in a late crash with Juanfran Guevara while Fabio Quartararo also tumbled on his way to eighth place. Adam Norrodin starts a superb ninth while Philipp Oettl completes the top ten.


Moto3 Motul Grand Prix of Japan (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
116. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:56.529
241. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:56.659
333. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:56.664
476. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team AsiaPenalty (+3)
58. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:56.673
648. Lorenzo Dalla PortaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:56.682
723. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:56.740
820. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:56.836
97. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:56.873
1065. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:56.899
119. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:56.951
1221. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraGaviota Mahindra Aspar1:57.001
1312. Albert ArenasPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:57.061
1436. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:57.062
1511. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:57.082
1617. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:57.087
1744. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:57.153
184. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:57.187
1919. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:57.220
2058. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:57.224
2184. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:57.236
2289. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:57.395
2388. Jorge MartinMahindraGaviota Mahindra Aspar1:57.397
2495. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:57.509
2524. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:57.552
2642. Marcos RamirezMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:57.681
2764. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:57.722
2840. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:57.844
2955. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:58.506
306. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team1:59.243
3177. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:59.369
323. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:59.380
3343. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia2:00.081
3413. Shizuka OkazakiHondaUQ & TELURU KOHARA RT2:02.753
3515. Rei SatoHonda41 Planning IodaRacing Japan2:03.505